HomeCricketT20 World Cup Winners List

T20 World Cup Winners List

The ICC T20 World Cup, first played in 2007, is a premier international championship in the fast-paced format of Twenty20 cricket. Since its inception, the tournament has seen various teams from around the globe compete for the prestigious title, delivering an array of thrilling matches and memorable performances. 

India won the inaugural edition of the tournament in 2007, while England claimed their second title in 2022. 

The 2024 T20 World Cup will be the ninth edition of the tournament, to be played in the USA and West Indies in June. England are the defending champions, having defeated Pakistan in the final of the previous edition. Ahead of the tournament, let us take a look at the T20 World Cup winners list.

ICC T20 World Cup Winners List 

YearWinnersMargin Won ByRunners UpPlayer of the SeriesTop Run ScorerHighest Wicket TakerHost
2022England5 wicketsPakistanSam CurranVirat KohliWanindu HasarangaAustralia
2021Australia8 wicketsNew ZealandDavid WarnerBabar AzamWanindu HasarangaOman & UAE
2016West Indies4 wicketsEnglandVirat KohliTamim IqbalMohammad NabiIndia
2014Sri Lanka6 wicketsIndiaVirat KohliVirat KohliAhsan Malik and Imran TahirBangladesh
2012West Indies36 runsSri LankaShane WatsonShane WatsonAjantha MendisSri Lanka
2010England7 wicketsAustraliaKevin PietersenMahela JayawardeneDirk NannesWest Indies
2009Pakistan8 wicketsSri LankaTillakaratne DilshanTillakaratne DilshanUmar GulEngland
2007India5 runsPakistanShahid AfridiMatthew HaydenUmar GulSouth Africa

1. India – 2007

The inaugural ICC T20 World Cup in 2007 was a landmark event held in South Africa. India, under the leadership of MS Dhoni, emerged as the first champions. The young Indian team played a fearless brand of cricket, with notable performances from players like Yuvraj Singh, who hit six sixes in an over against England, and Gautam Gambhir, whose batting was pivotal in the final.

The final against Pakistan was a nerve-wracking contest. India posted a competitive total of 157 runs, with Gambhir contributing a vital 75. In a dramatic finish, Pakistan fell short by just five runs, giving India their maiden T20 World Cup title. Irfan Pathan and RP Singh picked up three wickets each for India. 

Read More: T20 World Cup 2024 full schedule: Complete match list, dates, venues

2. Pakistan – 2009

Two years later, Pakistan clinched the 2009 T20 World Cup in England. After their narrow miss in 2007, Pakistan returned with a mission. Under the captaincy of Younis Khan, the team showed resilience and determination.

The final saw Pakistan facing Sri Lanka. Sri Lanka batted first and were restricted to 138 runs, thanks to an outstanding bowling performance led by Abdul Razzak, who picked up 3 wickets for 20 runs. Mohammad Amir, Shahid Afridi and Umar Gul also picked up a wicket each. Pakistan chased down the target with ease, with Shahid Afridi’s unbeaten 54 sealing their victory and their first T20 World Cup title.

3. England – 2010

The 2010 T20 World Cup in the West Indies marked England’s first ICC trophy in any format. Under the captaincy of Paul Collingwood, England played aggressive and fearless cricket throughout the tournament.

In the final against Australia, England’s bowlers restricted the Aussies to 147 runs. Craig Kieswetter and Kevin Pietersen then led the charge in the chase. Kieswetter’s 63 and Pietersen’s 47 ensured a comfortable seven-wicket victory, making England the new T20 champions.

Suggested Read: 10 Players with Most Sixes in T20 Cricket History

4. West Indies – 2012

The 2012 T20 World Cup in Sri Lanka saw the rise of the West Indies as a dominant force in T20 cricket. Led by Darren Sammy, the team was a blend of explosive batting and cunning bowling.

In the final, the West Indies faced the hosts, Sri Lanka. Batting first, they posted a modest total of 137, thanks largely to Marlon Samuels’ incredible 78. The West Indies bowlers then produced a stellar performance, dismissing Sri Lanka for just 101 runs. Sunil Narine and Darren Sammy shared five wickets between them to orchestrate the win. This victory marked the West Indies’ first T20 World Cup title and their first entry in T20 Cricket World Cup winners list. 

5. Sri Lanka – 2014

The 2014 T20 World Cup in Bangladesh was a sweet redemption for Sri Lanka. Having been the runners-up in the previous editions, they were determined to claim the title this time. Under the captaincy of Lasith Malinga, Sri Lanka played consistent cricket throughout the tournament.

The final against India saw Sri Lanka restricting India to 130 runs. Kumar Sangakkara, in his farewell T20 international, played a match-winning knock of 52 not out, ensuring Sri Lanka’s six-wicket victory and their first T20 World Cup title.

6. West Indies – 2016

The 2016 T20 World Cup in India witnessed the West Indies reclaiming their title. Led by Darren Sammy, the West Indies team was a powerhouse of talent and flair.

In the final against England, the match seemed to tilt in England’s favour until the last over. Carlos Brathwaite etched his name in T20 folklore by hitting four consecutive sixes off Ben Stokes in the final over, sealing a dramatic victory for the West Indies. This triumph made them the first team to win the T20 World Cup twice.

Suggested Read: 10 Players with Most Runs in World Cup

7. Australia – 2021

The 2021 T20 World Cup, held in the UAE and Oman, was delayed by a year due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Australia, led by Aaron Finch, won their maiden T20 World Cup title, adding to their illustrious cricketing history.

In the final against New Zealand, Australia chased down a target of 173 runs with remarkable ease. Mitchell Marsh played a stellar innings of 77 not out, supported by David Warner’s 53. This victory filled a significant gap in Australia’s trophy cabinet, crowning them as T20 champions.

8. England – 2022

The 2022 T20 World Cup in Australia saw England reclaim the title they had won 12 years earlier. Under the captaincy of Jos Buttler, England displayed a well-rounded and consistent performance throughout the tournament.

In the final, England faced Pakistan, who set a target of 137 runs, which England chased down with five wickets in hand, thanks to Ben Stokes’ unbeaten 52. This victory marked England’s second T20 World Cup win, making them one of the most successful teams in the tournament’s history.

Further Read: Fastest Centuries in T20 Cricket


The T20 World Cup has provided cricket fans with unforgettable moments and legendary performances. From India’s inaugural win to England’s recent triumph, each tournament has contributed to the rich tapestry of T20 cricket. As the tournament continues to evolve, it promises to deliver more excitement and enthralling cricketing action in the years to come.

With the upcoming T20 World Cup, get right in on the action with fantasy cricket. Pick your favourite players and win big with fantasy cricket on WinZO. Follow easy steps to download WinZO and start playing fantasy cricket.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular