HomeCricketList of Double Centuries in ODI Cricket

List of Double Centuries in ODI Cricket

Achieving a double century, be it in ODI cricket or Test cricket, stands as a remarkable feat of skill and endurance. In the history of ODI cricket, there have been several batters who have scored a century. However, there have been only 12 instances when a batter has scored a double-century in the format.

Sachin Tendulkar was the first player to score a double century in ODI cricket. More recently, Glenn Maxwell scored a double century in ODIs at the 2023 ODI World Cup in India.

12 Players with 200 Runs in ODI – Men’s Cricket

PlayerOpponentRuns (balls)4s6sS.R.Venue
Rohit SharmaSri Lanka264(173)339152.60Eden Gardens, Kolkata
Martin GuptillWest Indies237*(163)2411145.39Sky Stadium, Wellington
Virender SehwagWest Indies219(149)257146.97Holkar Stadium, Indore
Chris GayleZimbabwe215(147)1016146.25Manuka Oval, Canberra
Pathum NissankaAfghanistan210*(139)208151.07Pallekele International Cricket Stadium, Pallekele
Fakhar ZamanZimbabwe210*(156)245134.61Queens Sports Club, Bulawayo
Ishan KishanBangladesh210(131)2410160.30Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram
Rohit SharmaAustralia209(158)1216132.27M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore
Rohit SharmaSri Lanka208*(153)1312135.94PCA Stadium, Mohali
Shubman GillNew Zealand208(149)199139.59Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad
Glenn MaxwellAfghanistan201*(128)2110157.03Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
Sachin TendulkarSouth Africa200*(147)253136.05Captain Roop Singh Stadium, Gwalior

1. Rohit Sharma – 264 vs Sri Lanka

Rohit Sharma’s monumental innings of 264 against Sri Lanka at Eden Gardens, Kolkata, on November 13, 2014, remains the highest individual score in ODI cricket. His impeccable timing and stroke play saw him smash 33 fours and 9 sixes at a strike rate of 152.60. It was a masterclass in controlled aggression, as he dominated the opposition bowlers from start to finish, displaying his ability to convert starts into big scores.

Read More: Rohit Sharma Net Worth and Sources of Income

2. Martin Guptill – 237 vs West Indies

Martin Guptill’s blistering unbeaten 237 against West Indies at Sky Stadium, Wellington, on March 21, 2015, was a display of sheer power-hitting. His innings included 24 boundaries and 11 towering sixes, at a strike rate of 145.39. Guptill’s innings played a pivotal role in New Zealand posting a mammoth total, setting the stage for a comprehensive victory.

3. Virender Sehwag – 219 vs West Indies

Virender Sehwag’s explosive 219 against West Indies at Holkar Stadium, Indore, on December 8, 2011, showed his trademark aggressive batting style. With 25 fours and 7 sixes, Sehwag tormented the opposition bowlers, dictating terms throughout his innings at a strike rate of 146.97. His knock remains one of the most memorable in ODI history.

4. Chris Gayle – 215 vs Zimbabwe

Chris Gayle’s destructive double century against Zimbabwe at Manuka Oval, Canberra, on February 24, 2015, was a spectacle of power-hitting. His innings of 215, which included 10 fours and a staggering 16 sixes, came at a strike rate of 146.25. Gayle’s onslaught left the opposition bowlers hapless as he toyed with the field placements and boundaries.

Suggested Read: 10 Leading Wicket Takers in Test Cricket

5. Pathum Nissanka – 210 vs Afghanistan

Pathum Nissanka’s magnificent unbeaten 210 against Afghanistan at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium, Pallekele, on February 9, 2024, announced his arrival on the international stage. His innings, embellished with 20 fours and 8 sixes, displayed his talent and temperament under pressure, at a brisk strike rate of 151.07.

6. Fakhar Zaman – 210 vs Zimbabwe

Fakhar Zaman’s unbeaten 210 against Zimbabwe at Queens Sports Club, Bulawayo, on July 20, 2018, is the highest individual score by a Pakistani in ODI cricket. With 24 fours and 5 sixes, Zaman’s innings propelled Pakistan to a formidable total, as he batted at a strike rate of 134.61.

7. Ishan Kishan – 210 vs Bangladesh

Ishan Kishan’s explosive 210 against Bangladesh at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram, on December 10, 2022, marked his arrival as a batting sensation. His innings, comprising 24 fours and 10 sixes, was laced with aggressive stroke play, at an astonishing strike rate of 160.30.

8. Rohit Sharma – 209 vs Australia

Rohit Sharma’s majestic 209 against Australia at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore, on November 2, 2013, was the first of his three double centuries in ODIs. His innings, embellished with 12 fours and 16 sixes, came at a strike rate of 132.27, laying the foundation for India’s victory in a high-scoring encounter.

Suggested Read: Top 10 Longest Sixes in Cricket History

9. Rohit Sharma – 208 vs Sri Lanka

Rohit Sharma’s unbeaten 208 against Sri Lanka at PCA Stadium, Mohali, on December 13, 2017, was his third ODI double century. He became the only batter in the history of the game to score three double-centuries in ODIs. With 13 fours and 12 sixes, Sharma anchored the innings with finesse, batting at a strike rate of 135.94, guiding India to a commanding total.

10. Shubman Gill – 208 vs New Zealand

Shubman Gill’s 208 against New Zealand at Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad, on January 18, 2023, is one of his many brilliant knocks in international cricket. His innings, studded with 19 fours and 9 sixes, came at a strike rate of 139.59, establishing him as a future star of Indian cricket.

11. Glenn Maxwell – 201 vs Afghanistan

Glenn Maxwell’s scintillating unbeaten 201 against Afghanistan at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai, on November 7, 2023, was a display of audacious stroke play. With 21 fours and 10 sixes, Maxwell’s innings at a strike rate of 157.03 was one of the finest knocks every seen in ODI World Cup history. 

Further Read: What is the Cricket Ball Weight in KG

12. Sachin Tendulkar – 200 vs South Africa

Sachin Tendulkar’s iconic double century against South Africa at Captain Roop Singh Stadium, Gwalior, on February 24, 2010, is one of his best knocks in the format. His innings of 200 not out, consisted of 25 fours and 3 sixes, came at a strike rate of 136.05. 

FAQs about Double Century in ODI

Q) How many cricketers have scored a double century in ODI cricket? 

A) A total of nine cricketers have scored a double century in ODI cricket. Rohit Sharma has scored a double century in the format three times. 

Q) Which is the fastest double century in ODI?

A) Ishan Kishan scored the fastest double century in ODI by scoring 200 in just 126 balls against Bangladesh in Chattogram in 2022. 

Q) Who scored the first double century in an ODI cricket?

A) Sachin Tendulkar was the first player to score a double century in ODI cricket. He achieved the feat against South Africa in Gwalior in 2010.

Q) Which cricketer has scored three double-centuries in ODI cricket?

A) Rohit Sharma has scored three double-centuries in ODI cricket and is the only cricketer to have done so. Two of his double-centuries came against Sri Lanka, while one came against Australia.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular