HomeCricketFastest Centuries in T20 Cricket

Fastest Centuries in T20 Cricket

Scoring a century in the shortest format of cricket is no small feat. It requires a unique blend of skill, timing, and sheer power to reach the coveted three-digit mark in just 20 overs.

However, what truly sets apart a remarkable T20I century is not just the runs scored but the pace at which they are accumulated. In this article, we explore the players who have achieved the fastest centuries in T20 cricket. 

Players with Fastest 100 in T20 International

S. No.Player NameBallsOpponentYear
1.Kaushal Malla34Mongolia2023
2.David Miller35Bangladesh2017
3.Rohit Sharma35Srilanka2017
4.Sudesh Wickramasekara35Turkey2019
5.Sivakumar Periyalwar39Turkey2019
6.Henry George Munsey41Netherlands2019
7.Shaheryar Butt41The Czech Republic2020
8.Hazratullah Zazai42Ireland2019
9.Jean-Pierre Kotze43Bostwana2019
10.Richard Levi45New Zealand2012

Players with Fastest 100 in IPL

CH Gayle30Royal Challengers Bangalore v Pune WarriorsBangalore2013
RR Pant32Delhi v Himachal PradeshDelhi2018
WJ Lubbe33North West v LimpopoPaarl2018
Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton33Namibia v NepalNamibia2024
A Symonds34Kent v MiddlesexMaidstone2004
Sean Abbott34Surrey v KentThe Oval2023
Kushal Malla34Nepal v MongoliaHangzhou2023
LP van der Westhuizen35Namibia v KenyaWindhoek2011
DA Miller35South Africa v BangladeshPotchefstroom2017
RG Sharma35India v Sri LankaIndore2017
MJ Guptill35Worcestershire v NorthamptonshireNorthampton2018
Khushdil Shah35Southern Punjab (Pakistan) v SindhRawalpindi2020
Dewald Brevis35Titans v KnightsPotchefstroom2022

Chris Gayle

Chris Gayle, the towering West Indian batsman, holds several batting records, particularly in the T20 format. Renowned for his monstrous hitting, Gayle holds the record for the fastest century ever in T20 cricket. His blistering innings, which took place during the 2013 Indian Premier League season, saw him reach the coveted milestone in a mere 30 balls. During his blistering innings, he smashed a total of 11 towering sixes and 8 boundaries, amassing a staggering 175 runs in just 66 deliveries. His strike rate was a jaw-dropping 265.15. This innings stands as a testament to Gayle’s dominance in the T20 format and solidifies his status as one of the greatest T20 batsmen of all time. 

Read More: 10 Most successful players in the IPL

Rishabh Pant

Rishabh Pant’s blistering century against Himachal Pradesh in 2018 is second on the list. Playing for Delhi in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, Pant’s innings was a whirlwind display of power-hitting. In that match, Pant achieved the fastest century in T20 history by an Indian domestic cricketer, reaching the milestone in just 32 balls. His overall knock of 38-ball 116 comprised 8 boundaries and 12 towering sixes, and came at a whopping strike rate of 312.50, leaving the opposition bowlers clueless. Delhi went on to win the match by 10 wickets as the first-wicket partnership of 148 runs between Pant and Gautam Gambhir helped them effortlessly chase down the target. 

Wihan Lubbe 

In 2018, Wihan Lubbe scored the third-fastest T20 century in Paarl that left spectators spellbound. Representing the North West team in the Africa T20 Cup against Limpopo, Lubbe scored a century off just 33 balls. He was eventually dismissed for 102 off 36 balls, which came at a strike rate of 283.33. Lubbe hit five boundaries and 11 sixes during his stay on the crease. Lubbe is a 31-year-old allrounder who has played two T20 internationals for South Africa. 

Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton

Fourth on the list is Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton. In February 2024, Namibia’s Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton smashed the fastest century in T20Is, achieving the remarkable feat in just 33 balls against Nepal. He hit 11 fours and eight sixes en route to his phenomenal century. Reaching the milestone of 101 runs off just 36 deliveries, Loftie-Eaton’s century, Eaton’s knock is the fourth-fastest in T20 cricket and the fastest in T20 internationals. 

Andrew Symonds

Andrew Symonds’ century off 34 balls in the Kent vs. Middlesex T20 match in 2004 is one is his best knocks of all time. In that match, Symonds took the Middlesex bowlers to the cleaners with a display of raw power. His overall knock of 112 runs off 43 balls was laced with 18 fours and three maximums and came at a strike rate of 260.46. 

Sean Abbott 

In May 2023, Australian all-rounder Sean Abbott displayed sensational power-hitting, equalling the fastest-ever hundred in English T20 cricket, previously set by Symonds. Playing for Surrey in the T20 Blast competition at the Oval, Abbott scored a century off 34 balls. One of the highlights of Abbott’s innings was the 17th over, where he plundered 30 runs – two sixes followed by three fours and another six.

Kushal Malla

In September 2023, at the men’s cricket match during the Asian Games in Hangzhou, Nepal’s cricket prodigy, Kushal Malla, scored the fifth-fastest century in the game’s shortest format. 

Taking the crease at number three, the southpaw crafted an unbeaten innings of 137 runs from a mere 50 deliveries. He achieved a lightning-fast century off just 34 balls.

About Other Players

Two notable mentions from others in the top 13 are South Africa’s David Miller and Indian captain Rohit Sharma. 

In 2017, Miller smashed an unbeaten 101 runs off just 36 balls against Bangladesh, reaching his century in a mere 35 deliveries. Months later, Rohit Sharma replicated Miller’s feat, achieving a century in the same number of balls against Sri Lanka. The Indian opener’s blistering innings saw him score 118 runs off 43 balls. 

Chris Gayle, as mentioned above, holds the record for the fastest century in IPL history in a mere 30 balls. He scored an astonishing 175 runs, which is also the highest individual score in IPL history. Gayle’s stellar contribution also propelled Bangalore to shatter the record for the highest team score in the IPL, reaching 263/5.

Following Gayle’s extraordinary feat is Yusuf Pathan, whose century in the inaugural edition remains one of the highlights of his career. Pathan blazed to his hundred off just 37 deliveries, unleashing an onslaught that included 8 sixes and 9 fours. Not far behind is David Miller. Who scored a century in 38 balls in a chase of 191 runs. His innings, laced with 8 fours and 7 sixes, culminated in a resounding victory for Punjab.

Download WinZO App Play fantasy cricket and win money daily



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular