IPL Team Owners 2023

Chennai Super Kings Team Owner – India Cements

Chennai Super Kings is owned by the Chennai Super Kings Cricket Limited. On December 19, 2014, the Chennai Super Kings Cricket Limited was established, and it purchased the team’s rights from India Cement. The Chennai Super Kings Cricket Limited, in addition to serving in managerial and administrative capacities for the team, also holds the rights to the team’s uniform and other memorabilia, including t-shirts, mugs, posters, footwear, wristbands, and other items. The non-governmental firm Chennai Super Kings Cricket Limited is registered.

Delhi Capitals Team Owner – JSW & GMR Group

The Delhi Capitals are owned equally by the GMR Group (Grandhi Mallikarjuna Rao) and the JSW Group (Jindal South West). These businesses work in the steel and infrastructure industries, respectively. Parth Jindal, the director of JSW Sports, oversees team operations as well as serving as the franchise’s director.

Punjab Kings Team Owner – Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta and Karan Paul

The co-owners of Punjab Kings include Mohit Burman from Dabur, Ness Wadia from Wadia Group, Preity Zinta from PZNZ Media and Karan Paul from Apeejay Surrendra Group. 

Kolkata Knight Riders Team Owners – Red Chillies Entertainment and Mehta Group

The Kolkata Knight Riders are owned by Shahrukh Khan (Red Chillies Entertainment) and Jay Mehta and Juhi Chawla (Mehta Group).

Mumbai Indians Team Owners – Reliance Industries

Nita Ambani and her son Akash Ambani from the Reliance Group own Mumbai Indians. 

The Mumbai Indians owner Nita Ambani has recently entered an elite list of influential women for managing the team well and is certainly at the top of the IPL owner list with her efforts.

Rajasthan Royals Team Owners – Manoj Badale (Emerging Media)

There are a total of six co-owners of the Rajasthan Royals. They include Shane Warne from Spinners, Raj Kundra and Shilpa Shetty from Kuki Investments Ltd, Amisha Hathiramani from Tresco International Ltd, Manoj Badale from Emerging Media (IPL) Ltd, Lachlan Murdoch from Blue Water Estate Ltd, and Amisha Hathiramani from Tresco International Ltd.

Royal Challengers Bangalore Team Owners – United Spirits Limited 

The team is owned by United Spirits Limited, a subsidiary of Diageo, which is a British multinational alcoholic beverages company. The current chairman and director of the team is Sanjeev Churiwala, who is also the senior vice president of finance at Diageo India. Vijay Mallya of Kingfisher was forced to resign as team president after a string of controversies plagued his tenure. 

SunRisers Hyderabad Team Owners – Sun TV Network

Since the franchise’s name was changed from Deccan Chargers to Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2013, Sun Network’s Kalanithi Maran has owned the Hyderabad-based team.

Lucknow Super Giants Team OwnersRPSG Ventures Ltd

RPSG Ventures Limited’s Sanjeev Goenka owns the Lucknow-based franchise.

Gujarat Titans – CVC Capitals (Irelia Company Pte Ltd)

Private equity firm CVC Capital Partners purchased the second franchise based in Ahmedabad.

TeamDebutOriginal Owner(s)Current Owner(s) in 2023Net Worth
Chennai Super Kings2008India CementsChennai Super Kings Cricket Limited₹732 crore
Delhi Capitals2008GMR GroupGMR Group and JSW Group₹550 crore
Punjab Kings2008Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, and Saptarshi DeyMohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta and Karan Paul₹359 crore
Kolkata Knight Riders2008Red Chillies Entertainment and Mehta GroupRed Chillies Entertainment and Mehta Group₹629 crore
Mumbai Indians2008Reliance IndustriesReliance Industries₹809 crore
Rajasthan Royals2008Emerging MediaAmisha Hathiramani, Manoj Badale, Lachlan Murdoch, Ryan Tkalcevic, Shane Warne₹263 crore
Royal Challengers Bangalore2008United SpiritsUnited Spirits Limited₹595 crore
Sunrisers Hyderabad2013Deccan Chronicles (Deccan Chargers 2008-2012)Sun TV Network₹416 crore
Lucknow Super Giants2022RPSG Ventures Ltd.RPSG Ventures Ltd.
Gujarat Titans2022Irelia Company Pte Ltd. (CVC Capital)Irelia Company Pte Ltd. (CVC Capital)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular