HomeIndian Premier League (IPL)Who owns IPL team Chennai Super Kings?

Who owns IPL team Chennai Super Kings?

The Chennai Super Kings (CSK), also the second-most successful team in the Indian Premier League (IPL), has been a part of every season of the tournament since 2008, except for the 2016 and 2017 seasons when they were suspended from the league due to the involvement of their owners in a spot-fixing scandal.

Owners of CSK

The team is owned by India Cements, amongst India’s leading manufacturers and suppliers of cement, headquartered in Chennai. India Cements is owned by former Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) President N. Srinivasan and his family. N. Srinivasan’s son-in-law, Gurunath Meiyappan, was also a former team official of CSK.

India Cements, which was established in 1946 by S. N. N. Sankaralinga Iyer and T. S. Narayanaswami, produces and sells products like concrete cement and dry mortar products. As per reports, India Cements has a total cement production capacity of 15.5 million tonnes per year, with plants located in several states across India. Sankar Cement, Coramandel Cement and Raasi Gold are the brands owned by India Cements. In addition to owning CSK, the company has also sponsored several domestic tournaments in India.

It can be noted that India Cements directly owned CSK only until 2014, before transferring ownership to a separate entity named Chennai Super Kings Cricket Ltd.

CSK performance over the years

CSK have won the IPL title four times (in 2010, 2011, 2018, and 2021), and have the highest win percentage of matches among all teams in the IPL (58.98%). Additionally, they have made the most appearances in the playoffs (eleven) and the final (nine) among all teams.

  • 2008: CSK finished runners-up in the inaugural season of the IPL, losing the final to Rajasthan Royals.
  • 2009: They finished third in the league stage but lost to Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in the playoffs.
  • 2010: CSK won their first IPL title after defeating Mumbai Indians in the final.
  • 2011: They defended their IPL title, defeating RCB in the final.
  • 2012 and 2013: They made it to the finals yet again in both the seasons, but lost to Kolkata Knight Riders and Mumbai Indians, respectively.
  • 2014: CSK reached the playoffs but lost the eliminator to Kings XI Punjab.
  • 2015: They made it to the finals, but lost to Mumbai Indians.
  • 2016 and 2017: CSK suspended from IPL.
  • 2018: CSK won their third IPL title in 2018, defeating Sunrisers Hyderabad in the final.
  • 2019: They reached the playoffs but were outperformed by Mumbai Indians in the Qualifier.
  • 2020: CSK failed to qualify for the playoffs for the first time ever this season, finishing seventh.
  • 2021: They won their fourth title in 2021, defeating KKR in the final.
  • 2022: CSK failed to make the playoffs, finishing ninth.

CSK squad for IPL 2023

Ahead of the mini auction for the 2023 season, CSK released Dwayne Bravo, Robin Uthappa, Adam Milne, Hari Nishaanth, Chris Jordan, Bhagath Varma, KM Asif, and Narayan Jagadeesan. At the auction, they signed up Ben Stokes (INR 16.25 crore), Ajinkya Rahane (INR 50 lakh), Nishant Sindhu (INR 60 lakh), Shaik Rasheed (INR 20 lakh), Kyle Jamieson (INR 1 crore), Ajay Mandal (INR 20 lakh), Bhagath Varma (INR 20 lakh).

Full squad – MS Dhoni (c), Devon Conway, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ambati Rayudu, Subhranshu Senapati, Moeen Ali, Shivam Dube, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Dwaine Pretorius, Mitchell Santner, Ravindra Jadeja, Tushar Deshpande, Mukesh Chowdhary, Matheesha Pathirana, Simarjeet Singh, Deepak Chahar, Prashant Solanki, Maheesh Theekshana, Ajinkya Rahane, Ben Stokes, Shaik Rasheed, Nishant Sindhu, Kyle Jamieson, Ajay Mandal, Bhagath Varma.

CSK schedule for IPL 2023

CSK will kick start their campaign against Gujarat Titans on March 31 in Ahmedabad. They are set to play a total of 14 matches in the league stage, the last of which will be played against Delhi Capitals on May 20.

With the IPL season round the corner, you too can make your team and test your fantasy skills against some of the best players from across the globe. Download WinZO and play fantasy cricket.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular