HomeCricketIndia Squad Who Won 2007 World Cup Final

India Squad Who Won 2007 World Cup Final

The inaugural ICC T20 World Cup in 2007 marked a watershed moment in cricket history, introducing a dynamic and fast-paced format that captivated fans worldwide. Hosted in South Africa, the tournament saw underdogs and established teams alike battling it out in thrilling matches.

The Indian team, led by MS Dhoni, emerged as the champions, stunning the cricketing world with their fearless brand of cricket. Yuvraj Singh’s six sixes in an over against England became an iconic moment.

However, the 2007 T20 World Cup was more than just about India’s victory. It marked a paradigm shift in cricket, elevating the popularity of T20 cricket and laying the foundation for the growth of domestic T20 leagues worldwide. The tournament’s success paved the way for the emergence of a new era in cricket, where entertainment, innovation, and high-octane action took centre stage.

India’s victory in the 2007 ICC T20 World Cup stands as a defining moment in the nation’s cricketing history. Led by the young and dynamic MS Dhoni, India’s squad comprised a blend of seasoned veterans and emerging talents, each playing a pivotal role in the team’s success. Interestingly, India had played only a solitary T20 international match before the World Cup. With little to no experience, they ended up winning the title.  

2007 T20 World Cup India Squad

MS Dhoni (Captain), Yuvraj Singh (Vice Captain), Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Robin Uthappa, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik, Irfan Pathan, Yusuf Pathan, RP Singh, Joginder Sharma, Harbhajan Singh, Ajit Agarkar, Sreesanth, Piyush Chawla

Read More: T20 World Cup Winners List

2007 World Cup Indian Team Playing 11

Gautam Gambhir, Yusuf Pathan, Robin Uthappa, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (captain), Rohit Sharma, Irfan Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Joginder Sharma, S Sreesanth, RP Singh.

2007 T20 World Cup Indian Team – Where Are They Now 

1. Gautam Gambhir

Gautam Gambhir, the leading run-scorer in the 2007 T20 World Cup final with 75 runs, replicated his match-winning performance in the 2011 World Cup final by scoring 97 runs. His international career concluded in 2016. 

Presently, he serves as the mentor for the Kolkata Knight Riders in the 2024 IPL season, having previously captained the team and guided them to two championship victories.

2. Yuvraj Singh

Yuvraj Singh’s standout moment in the 2007 T20 World Cup was hitting six consecutive sixes off Stuart Broad in a match against England, a feat that helped him finish the tournament with the most sixes (12).

Later, in the 2011 World Cup, Yuvraj was named Player of the Tournament for his outstanding performance, scoring 362 runs and taking 15 wickets in 9 matches. He announced his retirement from international cricket in June 2019 and currently he has been seen playing for India Legends in the Road Safety World Series.

Suggested Read: What is the Net Worth of Yuvraj Singh?

3. Yusuf Pathan

Yusuf Pathan made his debut for India in the T20 World Cup final, substituting for the injured Virender Sehwag. In February 2021, Pathan announced his retirement from all forms of cricket. More recently, he has ventured into politics while concurrently managing a cricket academy alongside his brother, Irfan Pathan.

4. Robin Uthappa

Robin Uthappa had a lacklustre performance in the ICC T20 World Cup 2007, managing just 113 runs at an average of 19. However, he later rose to prominence as one of the best batsmen for the Kolkata Knight Riders from 2014 to 2019. Uthappa bid farewell to all formats of the game in 2022 and occasionally appears as a commentator.

5. Irfan Pathan 

In the 2007 T20 World Cup, Yusuf Pathan took 10 wickets in six innings, including crucial figures of 3/16 against Pakistan in the final, earning him the Player of the Match award. He last represented India in 2012. After retiring from international cricket, Pathan has transitioned to commentary and participates in the Road Safety World Series.

6. Harbhajan Singh 

Harbhajan Singh claimed seven wickets in seven games during the 2007 T20 World Cup. In the 2011 ODI World Cup, he added nine wickets in nine matches to his tally. After a 23-year international career, the offspinner announced his retirement in 2021. Since then, he has been actively engaged in commentary and cricket analysis.

7. MS Dhoni 

MS Dhoni, a young and inexperienced captain at the time, made history by leading India to their fiirst T20 World Cup title. With the bat, he played a crucial innings of 45 off 33 balls against South Africa and followed it with a vital knock of 36 off 18 balls in the semi-final against Australia.

Dhoni retired from international cricket in 2020. He continues to captain the Chennai Super Kings in the IPL, having led the team to five titles already. 

Suggested Read: MS Dhoni Net Worth, Sources of Income, Home, Cars and Bikes Collection

8. Joginder Sharma 

Joginder Sharma took four wickets in four matches during the 2007 T20 World Cup, but his heroics in the final over against Pakistan made him a national hero. Despite this moment of glory, his career did not flourish. After the World Cup, he played a few IPL games for Chennai Super Kings. Today, he serves as a police officer in Haryana.

9. Rohit Sharma 

Rohit Sharma made an impressive start in the T20 World Cup, scoring a composed half-century against South Africa in his debut innings. Over the course of three matches, he accumulated 88 runs without being dismissed.

His unbeaten 30 off 16 balls in the final against Pakistan played a key role in India’s victory. Rohit has since become the captain of the Indian team and is regarded as one of the best players across all formats. He is set to lead India in the upcoming 2024 T20 World Cup.

Suggested Read: Rohit Sharma Net Worth and Sources of Income

10. S Sreesanth 

S Sreesanth took six wickets in the 2007 T20 World Cup and played a pivotal role in the final by catching Misbah-ul-Haq, which paved the way for India’s victory. However, his career was marred by the 2013 IPL spot-fixing scandal, leading to his arrest and a life ban by the BCCI. The Supreme Court later reduced the ban to seven years, but Sreesanth retired in 2022.

11. RP Singh 

RP Singh was India’s leading wicket-taker in the 2007 T20 World Cup, taking 12 wickets in six innings. He announced his retirement from all forms of cricket in September 2018. Currently, he is not involved in any cricket-related activities and spends most of his time with his family and friends.

Further Read: 10 Players with Most Runs in T20 Cricket


India will be keen to replicate this performance in the upcoming T20 World Cup and you too could get involved with the action. With WinZO fantasy cricket, you can pick the best performers, sit back and win big as they perform out on the field.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular