HomeIndian Premier League (IPL)How Many World Cup India Won

How Many World Cup India Won

The Indian Cricket Team’s journey in international cricket began on 25 June 1932, at Lord’s Cricket Ground in London, against England, marking their Test debut and making them the sixth team to achieve Test cricket status. Their ODI debut came against England in 1974, and they entered the T20I arena against South Africa in 2006.

The team has clinched victories in five major ICC tournaments, securing the Cricket World Cup twice (1983 and 2011), the ICC T20 World Cup once (2007), and the ICC Champions Trophy twice (2002 and 2013). They’ve also claimed runner-up positions in the World Cup twice (2003 and 2023), the T20 World Cup once (2014), the Champions Trophy twice (2000 and 2017), and the ICC World Test Championship finals in the inaugural two editions (2021, 2023).

Their dominance extends to the Asia Cup, where they’ve won eight times (1984, 1988, 1990‍–‍91, 1995, 2010, 2016, 2018, and 2023) and finished as runners-up thrice (1997, 2004, 2008). Adding to their accolades, India secured a gold medal in the 2022 Asian Games.

List of World Cup Win by India

Cricket World Cup – 1983

The 1983 Cricket World Cup, held in England, marked a pivotal moment in Indian cricket history. Led by Kapil Dev, India’s journey to victory started with a significant upset against two-time defending champions West Indies, followed by victories over Zimbabwe and a memorable semifinal win against hosts England.

In the final showdown against West Indies at Lord’s, India, batting first, set a modest target of 183 runs. Despite initial doubts, India’s bowlers, led by Mohinder Amarnath and Madan Lal, secured victory by bowling out West Indies for 140 runs, clinching India’s first-ever Cricket World Cup title.

Kapil Dev’s iconic 175-run innings against Zimbabwe remains one of the highlights of India’s campaign. Roger Binny emerged as the tournament’s highest wicket-taker with 18 wickets. However, it was Mohinder Amarnath who played a big role for India in the knockouts, winning the Man of the Match award in both the semi-finals and finals. India’s win in 1983 marked a significant turning point, elevating the sport’s popularity in India. 

Read More: Who Scorers Most Runs in Test Cricket

Cricket World Cup – 2011 

The 2011 Cricket World Cup, jointly hosted by India, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh, comprised two groups of six teams each. India, placed in Group B, started their campaign with a resounding 87-run victory over Bangladesh, highlighted by Sehwag’s 175 and Kohli’s unbeaten century.

In another thrilling encounter against England, the match ended in a tie with Tendulkar’s impressive 120 being the standout performance. Victories against Ireland, Netherlands, and West Indies further solidified India’s standing.

Advancing to the quarterfinals, the MS Dhoni-led side faced Australia, prevailing with a comfortable five-wicket victory led by Tendulkar, Gambhir, and Yuvraj. In the semifinal clash against Pakistan, India posted 260/9 before restricting Pakistan to 231, securing a spot in the finals. Meeting Sri Lanka at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium, India chased down Sri Lanka’s 274/6 with Gambhir and Dhoni’s half-centuries, clinching their second World Cup title.

Tendulkar’s stellar performance saw him accumulate 482 runs, emerging as the tournament’s second-highest run-scorer, while Zaheer Khan’s 21 wickets made him the leading wicket-taker. Yuvraj’s exceptional all-round display earned him the Man of the Tournament accolade, scoring 362 runs and claiming 15 wickets.

T20 World Cup – 2007

Since its inception in 2007, the T20 World Cup has seen eight editions, with 21 teams competing thus far. India secured their maiden T20 World Cup trophy in 2007 in South Africa, led by the astute MS Dhoni. Despite their youthful and inexperienced squad, Dhoni’s leadership guided them to historic success.

India’s journey included a thrilling tie against Pakistan and victories over England and South Africa, propelling them to the semifinals where they overcame Australia.

In the nail-biting final against Pakistan, India emerged victorious by a narrow margin of five runs, becoming the first team to win the T20 World Cup, known as World T20 at the time. Notably, India had only played one T20 international match before the World Cup, highlighting the significance of their achievement.

For Dhoni, this tournament marked the beginning of his legendary career as one of cricket’s finest captains, despite being relatively new to international cricket at the time.

Suggested Read: Top 10 Longest Sixes in Cricket History

Indian Cricket Team at ODI World Cup

YearFinishMatches WonMatches LostMatches Tied
1975First round12
1979First round03
1992First round251
1999Super 6s44
2007First round12

The ICC Cricket World Cup, held every four years in the ODI Cricket format since its inception in 1975, has seen thirteen editions thus far. India has played each season of the tournament, and won the cup in 1983 and 2011. They’ve also attained runner-up status in 2003 and 2023.

Most Runs and Wickets for India at the ODI World Cups

Sachin Tendulkar holds the record for the highest run-scorer in ODI World Cups, amassing an unmatched 2278 runs in 44 innings, a feat likely to stand for years. Following him is Virat Kohli, with 1795 runs in 37 innings.

Mohammad Shami leads the wicket-taking charts for India at ODI World Cups since his debut in 2015, claiming an impressive 55 wickets in just 18 matches. Among active players, only Mitchell Starc of Australia (59) and Trent Boult of New Zealand (49) surpass Shami in this regard.

Former left-arm fast bowler Zaheer Khan secures the second position for India in most wickets at ODI World Cups. Between 2003 and 2011, Zaheer Khan claimed 44 wickets in 23 matches, boasting an average of 20.22 and an economy rate of 4.47.

FAQs about World Cup Win by India

Q) How many ODI World Cups has India won?

A) India has won the ODI World Cup twice, clinching the title in 1983 and 2011. 

Q) How many T20 World Cups has India won? 

A) India has secured the T20 World Cup title once, winning in the inaugural tournament held in 2007.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular