HomeCricket2011 World Cup Indian Team

2011 World Cup Indian Team

The 2011 Cricket ODI World Cup, hosted by India, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh, marked the 10th edition of the tournament and featured 14 nations competing for glory. 

India emerged as the champions, capturing their second ODI World Cup title after a gap of 28 years. Led by the iconic Mahendra Singh Dhoni, the Indian team displayed exceptional skill and determination throughout the tournament. The final match at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai saw India facing off against Sri Lanka in a high-stakes encounter. With stellar performances from Gautam Gambhir, who scored a crucial 97, and MS Dhoni, who finished with an unbeaten 91, India chased down the target to lift the coveted trophy amidst jubilant celebrations.

India has since not been able to replicate this performance. They were knocked out in the semi-finals in the 2015 and 2019 ODI World Cups and they had to face defeat in the final in the 2023 World Cup. 

2011 World Cup India Squad

Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain), Virender Sehwag (Vice Captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Yusuf Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Praveen Kumar, Munaf Patel, R Ashwin, Piyush Chawla.

Read More: T20 World Cup Winners List

2011 World Cup Indian Team Playing 11

The Indian Cricket Team did not make too many changes to their playing XI during the course of the 2011 World Cup. The playing XI in the final against Sri Lanka was –

Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (c), Suresh Raina, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Munaf Patel, S Sreesanth

2011 Cricket World Cup Indian Team – Where Are They Now

Virender Sehwag 

In the 2011 Cricket ODI World Cup, Virender Sehwag’s explosive batting style was on full display as he amassed 380 runs in just 8 matches at a strike rate of 122.58. Since retiring from international cricket in 2015, Sehwag has transitioned into various roles within the cricketing world, including commentary and cricket analysis. 

Sachin Tendulkar

Sachin Tendulkar scored 482 runs in 9 games at a strike rate of 91.98 and played a pivotal role in guiding India to victory after a 28-year wait.

Following his retirement from international cricket in 2013, Tendulkar continued to be involved in cricket. Currently, he is the mentor for the Mumbai Indians in the IPL and also plays for the India Legends in the Road Safety World Series. 

Gautam Gambhir 

Gautam Gambhir accumulated 393 runs in 9 matches in the 2011 World Cup. His match-winning knock of 97 runs in the final against Sri Lanka will forever be remembered as a defining moment in Indian cricket history.

Since retiring from all forms of cricket in December 2018, Gambhir has played in the IPL and done a bit of commentary. Currently, he has taken on the role of mentor for the Kolkata Knight Riders in IPL 2024.

Suggested Read: 10 Players with Most Runs in World Cup

Virat Kohli 

In his debut World Cup, Kohli scored 282 runs in nine matches, including a century and a half-century. Today, Kohli is hailed as one of the best players in international cricket. He captained the Indian cricket team from 2017 to 2022.

Yuvraj Singh 

In the 2011 World Cup, Yuvraj Singh was named the Player of the Tournament for scoring 362 runs and taking 15 wickets in 9 matches. In June 2019, he announced retirement from international cricket, post which he has been seen playing for India Legends in the Road Safety World Series.

MS Dhoni

MS Dhoni’s leadership was instrumental in India’s 2011 World Cup victory. In the final, he scored a crucial 91 runs off 79 deliveries, steering India to victory. In 2017, he passed the captaincy to Virat Kohli after leading the team for a decade. Dhoni retired from international cricket in 2020 but remains active in the IPL, where he captains the Chennai Super Kings, who have clinched five titles under his leadership.

Suresh Raina 

Suresh Raina played a crucial role in India’s 2011 World Cup victory, notably shining in the quarter-final and semi-final matches. He contributed a vital 34-run innings against Australia and an unbeaten 36 runs against Pakistan. Raina retired from international cricket in July 2018 along with MS Dhoni. Currently, he serves as a cricket expert and commentator in the IPL.

Zaheer Khan 

Zaheer Khan picked up 21 wickets in nine matches with an economy of 4.83, becoming the joint-leading wicket-taker alongside Pakistan’s Shahid Afridi. He retired from international cricket in October 2015 and has since been associated with the IPL franchise Mumbai Indians, first as their Director of Cricket Operations and later as the Global Head of Cricket Development. 

Harbhajan Singh 

Harbhajan Singh picked up nine wickets in nine matches at an economy of 4.48 in the 2011 World Cup. After 23 years in international cricket, the offspinner announced retirement in 2021. Since retiring from cricket, he has been actively involved in commentary and analysis. 

Further Read: Most Centuries by Players in ICC Cricket World Cup

Munaf Patel 

Munaf Patel picked up 11 wickets in eight matches with an economy of 5.36. His economical spells in the semi-final and final matches were instrumental in India clinching the title. Patel retired from international cricket in November 2018, concluding his career with 125 wickets in 86 matches. He currently plays in the World Road Safety Series. 

S Sreesanth 

The performances of S Sreesanth in the 2011 World Cup were ordinary. He retired from all forms of cricket in March 2022 and contested but lost in the Kerala Assembly election in May 2022. He also participated in the US Masters T10 tournament, where he took nine wickets in seven innings for the Morrisville Unity team.

Conclusion –

India’s victory in the 2011 Cricket World Cup stands as a monumental moment in the nation’s sporting history. Led by the dynamic leadership of MS Dhoni and fueled by stellar performances from key players like Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh, Zaheer Khan, and others, India showcased resilience, skill, and determination throughout the tournament.

The team’s ability to overcome formidable opponents and deliver under pressure culminated in a triumphant final against Sri Lanka. India’s wait for a third ODI World Cup continues, but the memories from the 2011 World Cup will always be cherished.

Get in on the cricket action with WinZO fantasy cricket and win big with key players.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular