HomeCricketList of RCB Captains: Royal Challengers Bangalore Captains List

List of RCB Captains: Royal Challengers Bangalore Captains List

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) is one of the 10 teams in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Established in 2008 by United Spirits, it took its name from the popular liquor brand Royal Challenge. Vijay Mallya acquired the Bangalore franchise for US$111.6 million at the 2008 team auction, the second-highest bid after Mumbai Indians’ US$111.9 million bid by Reliance Industries.

Despite finishing as runners-up in 2009, 2011, and 2016, the team has yet to claim the IPL trophy. With a valuation of $69.8 million, RCB ranks among the IPL’s most valuable franchises. Notably, RCB holds two significant IPL records: the lowest innings score (49 against Kolkata Knight Riders) and the highest runs conceded in an innings (287 against Sunrisers Hyderabad).

Ahead of the 2024 IPL season, the team underwent a name change, transitioning from Royal Challengers Bangalore to Royal Challengers Bengaluru.

Read More: Who Owns Royal Challengers Bangalore in the IPL?

List of All RCB Captains from 2008 to 2024

Rahul Dravid2008-2008144100028.57
Kevin Pietersen2009-20096240033.33
Anil Kumble2009-20103519160054.28
Daniel Vettori2011-20122814130053.57
Virat Kohli2011-202114366703448.56
Shane Watson2017-20173120033.33
Faf du Plessis*2022-20243818200047.36

Since the inaugural edition of the prestigious league in 2008, Royal Challengers Bangalore has seen seven players take up the captaincy role.

Former RCB captain Virat Kohli has been at the helm for the majority of matches since 2011. However, during IPL 2021, the reins were handed over to former South African captain Faf du Plessis.

In the debut season of 2008, Rahul Dravid, the current head coach of the Indian national team, led RCB in all 14 league matches. Following Kohli, Faf du Plessis has captained the franchise the most times – 38* matches.

Among the captains, Kohli, Anil Kumble, and Dravid are Indian, while Daniel Vettori, Kevin Pietersen, du Plessis, and Shane Watson have served as overseas leaders over the years.

During the 2017 edition, Watson led RCB in three matches when Kohli was sidelined due to a shoulder injury sustained during the Ranchi Test against Australia.

Despite the involvement of several esteemed leaders, the franchise is yet to clinch a title victory.

Suggested Read: Highest Individual Score in IPL

Virat Kohli as RCB Captain 

Virat Kohli has been a consistent presence for RCB since the IPL’s inception in 2008. He assumed the role of regular captain in 2013. In a match against the Rajasthan Royals in 2011, Kohli led RCB for the first time, guiding them to a decisive nine-wicket victory. Following Daniel Vettori’s step down as captain in May 2012, Kohli was appointed full-time captain.

With Kohli at the helm, RCB won 66 out of 143 matches under his leadership, making him the only captain with over 100 matches to have lost more games than won in the IPL.

As a batsman, Kohli’s IPL record is stellar. He holds the record for the highest run scorer in IPL history. 

Suggested Read: List of Centuries by Virat Kohli

RCB’s Standings in Points Table Under Virat Kohli’s Captaincy


In 2013, when Kohli assumed the captaincy mantle, he scored 634 runs in 16 matches. Despite his individual brilliance, RCB finished fifth in the league stage, missing out on playoff qualification. The following year, Kohli continued to lead from the front with 359 runs in 14 matches, but RCB’s fortunes plummeted as they languished in seventh place.

However, 2015 brought a glimmer of hope as RCB stormed into the playoffs, buoyed by Kohli’s impressive tally of 505 runs in 16 matches. Although they clinched a resounding victory against Rajasthan Royals in the Eliminator, their journey was halted by Chennai Super Kings in Qualifier 2.

However, the following years witnessed a downturn in RCB’s fortunes. In 2017, they had a last-place finish in the league stage. Kohli himself could only muster 308 runs from 10 matches. The subsequent seasons of 2018 and 2019 witnessed similar struggles for RCB, with Kohli’s individual brilliance overshadowed by the team’s inconsistencies.

Further Read: Virat Kohli Brand Ambassador List

In 2020, under the guidance of a new coaching staff, RCB showed signs of resurgence, securing a playoff berth. Despite Kohli’s commendable contribution of 466 runs, RCB bowed out in the Eliminator stage. The 2021 season marked an improvement in RCB’s overall performance, with Kohli leading the charge with 405 runs in 15 matches. However, their campaign culminated in disappointment once again at the Eliminator stage.

Throughout Kohli’s tenure as captain, his exemplary leadership and batting supremacy were evident, but RCB’s quest for IPL glory remained elusive. 

FAQs about RCB Captains

Q) Who is the highest run-scorer for RCB in IPL history?

A) Virat Kohli is the highest run-scorer for not just RCB, but the highest run-scorer in IPL history.

Q) How many matches did Virat Kohli captain RCB in?

A) Virat Kohli led RCB in 143 matches, winning 66 and losing 70.

Q) When did Faf du Plessis become the full-time captain of RCB?

A) Faf du Plessis became the full-time captain of RCB in IPL 2021.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular