HomeIndian Premier League (IPL)Who is the King of IPL?

Who is the King of IPL?

Since its inception, the Indian Premier League (IPL) has been a stage where cricketing talent shines brightly. Over the years, numerous players have consistently delivered stellar performances, etching their names in IPL folklore.

From the legendary consistency of players like Virat Kohli and Suresh Raina to the explosive batting of Chris Gayle and David Warner, the tournament has witnessed remarkable individual displays season after season.

Bowlers like Lasith Malinga and Bhuvneshwar Kumar have shown their mastery of the craft, consistently troubling batsmen with their precision and variations. All-rounders such as Shane Watson and Dwayne Bravo have been invaluable assets to their teams, contributing with both bat and ball.

The IPL has also been a platform for young talents to make their mark, with players like Jasprit Bumrah and Rashid Khan rising to prominence through their performances in the tournament.

Over the years, a persistent question has loomed large in IPL circles – who is the King  of IPL history? Amidst the galaxy of stars who have consistently illuminated the tournament with their brilliance, one name stands tall – Virat Kohli. Kohli has carved his legacy as the undisputed King of the IPL. His unwavering consistency, season after season, has not only set records ablaze but has also redefined the standards of batting excellence in the league. From awe-inspiring centuries to crucial match-winning innings, Kohli’s presence on the field exudes an aura of dominance.

Thus, it is only fitting to bestow upon him the title he rightfully deserves: the King of IPL.

Read More: Latest IPL Winners List And Runner-Up (2008 – 2023): Detailed Analysis

Who is the King Player of IPL History? 

Virat Kohli’s journey in IPL is a saga of consistent excellence. Since the inception of the IPL in 2008, Kohli has been a mainstay, showcasing his batting brilliance year after year. His career aggregate of 7763 runs at an average of 38.43 exemplifies his dominance in the tournament. What’s more striking is his strike rate, standing at 131.02, which attests to his ability to score quickly.

Delving into individual seasons, Kohli’s performances have been nothing short of spectacular. In 2016, he reached the zenith of his IPL career, amassing a staggering 973 runs at an astonishing average of 81.08. This included four centuries. His ability to convert starts into big scores and accelerate when needed made him a nightmare for opposition bowlers.

Even in seasons where his aggregate might not have been as towering, Kohli’s impact remained significant. His consistency across seasons is evident from his ability to cross the 400-run mark consistently. 

Virat Kohli Records in the IPL 

In the ongoing IPL 2024, Kohli achieved a big feat. So if you were to ask who is the King of IPL 2024, we’d again go with Kohli. 

Kohli, who is currently the owner of the prestigious Orange Cap of the season, etched his name in IPL history once again. In the ongoing IPL 2024 season, he became the first batsman to breach the monumental 500-run milestone. This remarkable feat was accomplished during a clash against the Gujarat Titans in Ahmedabad, where Kohli scored the exact 70 runs required to reach this milestone. With this achievement, Kohli joins the elite league alongside David Warner as the only batters to have amassed 500 or more runs in a single IPL season on seven remarkable occasions. 

Further Read: List of Centuries by Virat Kohli

Kohli Records in the IPL Over the Years 

Most Runs in IPL History

Kohli is the highest run-scorer in the history of the IPL. He has scored 7763 runs at an average and strike rate of 38.43 and 131.02. 

Most Runs in a Single Season

Kohli holds the record for scoring the most runs in a single IPL season. He piled up 973 runs in the 2016 IPL season while playing for RCB.

Most Centuries in IPL History

Kohli also holds the record for scoring the most centuries in IPL history. He has scored a total of eight centuries so far, four of which came in IPL 2016. 

Second-Most Fifties in IPL History

Kohli has scored a total of 62 fifties in the IPL so far, only behind David Warner’s 66. 

Second Fastest to Reach 5000 Runs in IPL

Kohli reached the 5000-run milestone against the Mumbai Indians in 2019, in his 157th innings. The fastest to 5000 runs in the IPL is David Warner, who did it in 135 innings. 

Most Runs as Captain in IPL

Kohli also holds the record for most runs as captain in IPL. He scored 4994 runs in 142 innings as the captain of the RCB team. 

Apart from Virat Kohli, several players have left a significant mark in the IPL over the years. Chris Gayle, with his explosive batting and numerous centuries, was a force to reckon with for teams he played for.

David Warner’s consistency as a top-order batsman and his leadership qualities make him stand out. Suresh Raina, known as Mr. IPL, was a mainstay for the Chennai Super Kings, contributing with both bat and in the field.

Lasith Malinga’s deadly yorkers and impeccable bowling made him the highest wicket-taker for the Mumbai Indians and the best bowler in the tournament’s history. Each of these players contributed immensely to the league’s success and have earned their place as notable mentions for the title of the king of IPL, displaying their talent and impact season after season.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular