HomeCricketList of Orange Cap Winners in IPL History

List of Orange Cap Winners in IPL History

In the Indian Premier League (IPL), the Orange Cap is something that every batsman dreams of wearing. It is awarded to the player who scores the most runs during the tournament. Over the years, many cricketing legends have proudly worn this cap – some have won it even twice. Take a look at the list of orange cap winners from 2008 to 2023.

IPL Orange Cap Winners List (2008 – 2024)

YearWinnerTeamRunsAverageStrike Rate100
2023Shubman GillGT89059.33157.83
2022Jos ButtlerRR86357.53149.054
2021Ruturaj GaikwadCSK63545.35136.261
2020KL RahulKXIP67055.83129.341
2019David WarnerSRH69269.2143.871
2018Kane WilliamsonSRH73552.5142.440
2017David WarnerSRH64158.27141.811
2016Virat KohliRCB97381.08152.034
2015David WarnerSRH56243.23156.540
2014Robin UthappaKKR66044137.780
2013Michael HusseyCSK73352.35129.50
2012Chris GayleRCB73361.08160.741
2011Chris GayleRCB60867.55183.132
2010Sachin TendulkarMI61847.53132.610
2009Matthew HaydenCSK57252144.810
2008Shaun MarshKXIP61668.44139.681

1. Shaun Marsh – 2008

During the inaugural season of the IPL back in 2008, Shaun Marsh emerged as the star batsman, clinching the Orange Cap while playing for the Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings). He amassed a total of 616 runs in just 11 matches, boasting an impressive average of 68.44 and a strike rate of 139.68. He also scored a century in Punjab’s final league game against the Rajasthan Royals. In his IPL career spanning from 2008 to 2017, Marsh played in 71 matches, amassing a total of 2477 runs at an average and strike rate of 39.95 and 132.74. 

2. Matthew Hayden – 2009

In 2009, former Australian opener and two-time ODI World Cup champion, Matthew Hayden won the coveted Orange Cap. He scored a total of 572 runs in 12 innings and consistent performances at the top order were instrumental in guiding the Chennai Super Kings to the semi-finals that season. Overall, Hayden played a total of 32 matches in the IPL, scoring 1107 runs at an average and strike rate of 36.90 and 137.52. 2010 was his final IPL season. 

3. Sachin Tendulkar – 2010

In the 2010 edition of the IPL, the legendary Sachin Tendulkar not only played for Mumbai as a batsman but also led them in four matches. Tendulkar won the Orange Cap that season, for scoring 618 runs in 14 innings at an average of 47.53 and a strike rate of 132.61. CSK. Overall, Tendulkar played 78 IPL matches, all of those for Mumbai Indians, scoring 2334 runs at an average of 33.83 and a strike rate of around 120. 

4. Chris Gayle – 2011

IPL 2011 belonged to Chris Gayle, who piled up the greatest number of runs in the season. The explosive West Indian batsman not only won the Orange Cap by scoring a whopping 608 runs in 12 innings but also earned the Player of the Tournament award. Gayle also dominated the season in terms of six-hitting, smashing the most sixes with an impressive tally of 52. The 44-year-old played 142 IPL matches from 2009 to 2021, scoring 4965 runs at an average and strike rate of 39.72 and 148.96. 

Read More: IPL 2024 IPL Match Schedule Match Timings

5. Chris Gayle – 2012

In 2012, Chris Gayle won the Orange Cap for the second time. He amassed a total of 733 runs with seven fifties, including a century, and boasted an impressive strike rate of 160.74. Gayle’s dominance was further highlighted by his record-breaking 59 sixes in the season, which still remains as the highest number of sixes hit by a player in a single IPL season.

6. Michael Hussey – 2013

Former Australian cricketer Michael Hussey won the Orange Cap in 2013. Displaying remarkable consistency, Hussey equalled Gayle’s record from the previous season by amassing 733 runs from 16 innings. Hussey overall played 59 IPL matches, scoring 1977 runs at an average of 38.76 and a strike rate of 122.64. 

7. Robin Uthappa – 2014

In 2014, Robin Uthappa became the first player on the IPL Orange Cap list to also be a part of the winning team in the same season. Ever since being promoted as an opener by KKR, Uthappa kept piling up runs. He amassed 660 runs in 16 matches, at an average of 44 and a strike rate of 137.78.

8. David Warner – 2015

IPL 2015 belonged to David Warner. The Australian opener won the Orange Cap after scoring a total of 562 runs in 14 matches at an impressive average of 43.23 and a striking strike rate of 156.54. This achievement made him the fourth Australian cricketer to be featured on the IPL Orange Cap winners list. Warner also served as the captain of the Sunrisers Hyderabad that season.

Further Read: 10 Most Successful Players in the IPL

9. Virat Kohli – 2016

Virat Kohli’s best-ever IPL season came in 2016, when he scored a staggering total of 973 runs at an astounding average of 81.08 and a strike rate of 152.03. Kohli scored four centuries that season and played a big role in leading RCB to the final, where they eventually lost to the Sunrisers. 

10. David Warner – 2017

Warner won the Orange Cap for the second time in 2017, when he accumulated a total of 641 runs in just 14 innings. 

11. Kane Williamson – 2018

In 2018, Kane Williamson became the first player from New Zealand to win the Orange Cap. Williamson accumulated a total of 735 runs in 17 innings for the Sunrisers Hyderabad. 

12. David Warner – 2019

In 2019, David Warner continued his extraordinary run in the IPL by securing the Orange Cap for the third time. With this achievement, he became the only player on the IPL Orange Cap list to win the cap three times. He scored a total of 692 runs in just 12 innings for the Sunrisers Hyderabad. 

13. KL Rahul – 2020

The Orange Cap in 2020 was won by KL Rahul. The then Punjab Kings batsman scored an impressive tally of 670 runs that season. KL Rahul now plays for the Lucknow Super Giant in the IPL.

14. Ruturaj Gaikwad – 2021

In IPL 2021, Ruturaj Gaikwad became the first uncapped player to win an Orange Cap in the IPL. His impressive tally of 635 runs in 16 innings, including a memorable debut IPL century against the Rajasthan Royals, played a pivotal role in CSK clinching their fourth IPL title.

15. Jos Buttler – 2022

Jos Buttler, playing for the Rajasthan Royals, emerged as the Orange Cap winner in 2022. He scored 863 runs including four fifties and four centuries, at an impressive average of 57.53 and a formidable strike rate of 149.05.

16. Shubman Gill – 2023

Moving on to 2023, Shubman Gill took the IPL by storm as he led the batting charge for the Gujarat Titans. He scored 890 runs at an outstanding average of 59.33 and a strike rate of 157.80.  Gill’s stellar performance included three centuries.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular