HomeCricketRanji Trophy Winners List

Ranji Trophy Winners List

The Ranji Trophy is one of the most prestigious domestic cricket tournaments in India, serving as a critical platform for budding cricketers to prove their mettle and vie for a place in the national team. Named after the legendary Indian cricketer Ranjitsinhji, the tournament has a rich history and has been instrumental in shaping the landscape of Indian cricket.

Origin and Early Years

The idea of a national cricket championship was first mooted in 1927 by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). However, it wasn’t until 1934 that the first Ranji Trophy tournament was organized.

The tournament was named after Kumar Shri Ranjitsinhji, also known as Ranji, who was one of the first Indian cricketers to achieve international fame. Ranji played for England and Sussex and was renowned for his unique batting style, particularly his late cuts and leg glances.

The inaugural Ranji Trophy match took place on November 4, 1934, between Madras and Mysore at the Chepauk Ground in Madras (now Chennai). Madras emerged victorious in this match. Overall, Mumbai has won the tournament the most times with 42 wins including 15 back-to-back wins from 1958–59 to 1972–73.

Read More: All Indian Cricket Team Coach List Since 1971

The First Winners

The first edition of the Ranji Trophy saw 15 teams participating, representing various regions and princely states of India. The final was held between Bombay and Northern India at the Bombay Gymkhana Ground. Bombay, led by L.P. Jai, won the match by an innings and 27 runs, becoming the first champions of the Ranji Trophy. This victory marked the beginning of Bombay’s dominance in the tournament, a legacy that continued for several decades.

List of Ranji Trophy Winners

SeasonWinnerRunner-upWinning Captain
1934–35BombayNorthern IndiaL. P. Jai
1935–36BombayMadrasHormasji Vajifdar
1936–37NawanagarBengalAlbert Wensley
1937–38HyderabadNawanagarSM Hussain
1938–39BengalSouthern PunjabTom Longfield
1939–40MaharashtraUnited ProvincesD. B. Deodhar
1940–41MaharashtraMadrasD. B. Deodhar
1941–42BombayMysoreVijay Merchant
1943–44Western IndiaBengalHerbert Barritt
1944–45BombayHolkarVijay Merchant
1945–46HolkarBarodaC. K. Nayudu
1946–47BarodaHolkarRaosaheb Nimbalkar
1947–48HolkarBombayC. K. Nayudu
1948–49BombayBarodaK. C. Ibrahim
1949–50BarodaHolkarRaosaheb Nimbalkar
1950–51HolkarGujaratC. K. Nayudu
1951–52BombayHolkarMadhav Mantri
1952–53HolkarBengalC. K. Nayudu
1953–54BombayHolkarRanga Sohoni
1954–55MadrasHolkarBalu Alaganan
1955–56BombayBengalMadhav Mantri
1956–57BombayServicesMadhav Mantri
1957–58BarodaServicesDatta Gaekwad
1958–59BombayBengalMadhav Apte
1959–60BombayMysorePolly Umrigar
1960–61BombayRajasthanPolly Umrigar
1961–62BombayRajasthanMadhav Apte
1962–63BombayRajasthanPolly Umrigar
1963–64BombayRajasthanBapu Nadkarni
1964–65BombayHyderabadBapu Nadkarni
1965–66BombayRajasthanBapu Nadkarni
1966–67BombayRajasthanManohar Hardikar
1967–68BombayMadrasManohar Hardikar
1968–69BombayBengalAjit Wadekar
1969–70BombayRajasthanAjit Wadekar
1970–71BombayMaharashtraSudhir Naik
1971–72BombayBengalAjit Wadekar
1972–73BombayTamil NaduAjit Wadekar
1973–74KarnatakaRajasthanE. A. S. Prasanna
1974–75BombayKarnatakaAshok Mankad
1975–76BombayBiharAshok Mankad
1976–77BombayDelhiSunil Gavaskar
1977–78KarnatakaUttar PradeshE. A. S. Prasanna
1978–79DelhiKarnatakaBishan Singh Bedi
1979–80DelhiBombayBishan Singh Bedi
1980–81BombayDelhiEknath Solkar
1981–82DelhiKarnatakaMohinder Amarnath
1982–83KarnatakaBombayBrijesh Patel
1983–84BombayDelhiSunil Gavaskar
1984–85BombayDelhiSunil Gavaskar
1985–86DelhiHaryanaMadan Lal
1986–87HyderabadDelhiM. V. Narasimha Rao
1987–88Tamil NaduRailwaysS. Vasudevan
1988–89DelhiBengalMadan Lal
1989–90BengalDelhiSambaran Banerjee
1990–91HaryanaBombayKapil Dev
1991–92DelhiTamil NaduAjay Sharma
1992–93PunjabMaharashtraGursharan Singh
1993–94BombayBengalRavi Shastri
1994–95BombayPunjabSachin Tendulkar
1995–96KarnatakaTamil NaduAnil Kumble
1996–97MumbaiDelhiSanjay Manjrekar
1997–98KarnatakaUttar PradeshRahul Dravid
1998–99KarnatakaMadhya PradeshSunil Joshi
1999–00MumbaiHyderabadSameer Dighe
2000–01BarodaRailwaysJacob Martin
2001–02RailwaysBarodaAbhay Sharma
2002–03MumbaiTamil NaduParas Mhambrey
2003–04MumbaiTamil NaduSairaj Bahutule
2004–05RailwaysPunjabSanjay Bangar
2005–06Uttar PradeshBengalMohammad Kaif
2006–07MumbaiBengalAmol Muzumdar
2007–08DelhiUttar PradeshGautam Gambhir
2008–09MumbaiUttar PradeshWasim Jaffer
2009–10MumbaiKarnatakaWasim Jaffer
2010–11RajasthanBarodaHrishikesh Kanitkar
2011–12RajasthanTamil NaduHrishikesh Kanitkar
2012–13MumbaiSaurashtraAjit Agarkar
2013–14KarnatakaMaharashtraVinay Kumar
2014–15KarnatakaTamil NaduVinay Kumar
2015–16MumbaiSaurashtraAditya Tare
2016–17GujaratMumbaiParthiv Patel
2017–18VidarbhaDelhiFaiz Fazal
2018–19VidarbhaSaurashtraFaiz Fazal
2019–20SaurashtraBengalJaydev Unadkat
2021–22Madhya PradeshMumbaiAditya Shrivastava
2022–23SaurashtraBengalJaydev Unadkat
2023–24MumbaiVidarbhaAjinkya Rahane

Format and Structure

The Ranji Trophy has undergone several format changes over the years. Initially, it was a knockout tournament, but it transitioned to a league format to ensure that teams played more matches. As of the current structure, the tournament consists of four groups: Elite Group A, Elite Group B, Elite Group C, and the Plate Group. Teams play each other in a round-robin format within their groups, and the top teams advance to the knockout stages, culminating in the final.

Suggested Read: Indian Squad Who Won 1983 Cricket World Cup

The matches are played over four days, with each team having two innings. Points are awarded based on the results, with outright wins, first-innings leads, and draws contributing to the standings. 

Mumbai holds the record for the most Ranji Trophy titles, with 41 championships to their name. Their dominance in the domestic circuit is unparalleled, and many of India’s greatest cricketers have emerged from this cricketing powerhouse.

Further Read: India Squad Who Won 2007 World Cup Final


From its inception in 1934 to today, the Ranji Trophy has evolved significantly, adapting to the changing dynamics of the sport.

As the primary domestic competition in India, it continues to be a vital platform for aspiring cricketers, contributing immensely to the national team’s success on the global stage.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular