HomeCricketTop 10 Players with Fastest Century in IPL History

Top 10 Players with Fastest Century in IPL History

Since its inception, the IPL has been a breeding ground for breathtaking cricketing spectacles, with numerous batsmen delivering some unforgettable innings. 

The first-ever century in the IPL was a watershed moment that set the stage for a league known for its electrifying batting displays. It was scored in the very first IPL match, by Kolkata Knight Riders’ Brendon McCullum.

The record for the fastest century in the IPL is held by Chris Gayle, who scored it in merely 30 balls. Check out a list of the top 10 fastest centuries in the IPL.

List of 10 Players with Fastest Century in the IPL 

Chris Gayle30Royal Challengers Bangalore v Pune WarriorsBangalore23 April 2013
Yusuf Pathan37Rajasthan Royals v Mumbai IndiansMumbai13 March 2010
David Miller38Kings XI Punjab v Royal Challengers BangaloreMohali06 May 2013
Travis Head39Sunrisers Hyderabad v Royal Challengers BangaloreBengaluru15 April 2024
Will Jacks41Royal Challengers Bangalore v Gujarat TitansAhmedabad28 April 2024
Adam Gilchrist42Deccan Chargers v Mumbai IndiansMumbai27 April 2008
AB de Villiers43Royal Challengers Bangalore v Gujarat LionsBangalore14 May 2016
David Warner43Sunrisers Hyderabad v Kolkata Knight RidersHyderabad30 April 2017
Sanath Jayasuriya45Mumbai Indians v Chennai Super KingsMumbai14 May 2008
Mayank Agarwal45Kings XI Punjab v Rajasthan RoyalsSharjah27 Sep 2020

1. Chris Gayle – 30 Balls

Chris Gayle’s explosive century off just 30 balls remains a legendary feat in IPL history. Playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2013, Gayle dismantled the Pune Warriors’ bowling attack with brutal efficiency. His innings included 13 fours and 17 sixes, leading to an astonishing 175* off 66 balls.

This performance powered RCB to a mammoth total of 263/5. Pune Warriors, in reply, could only manage 133/9, giving RCB a colossal 130-run victory. Gayle’s knock is not just the fastest century in IPL but also set the record for the highest individual score in a T20 match.

Read More: Most Successful Teams in IPL From 2008 to 2024

2. Yusuf Pathan – 37 Balls

Yusuf Pathan’s 37-ball century is memorable not just for its speed but also for its dramatic context. In 2010, chasing a massive target of 213 set by Mumbai Indians, Rajasthan Royals were in deep trouble at 66/4 when Pathan unleashed his fury.

His innings, laced with 9 fours and 8 sixes, brought Royals tantalizingly close to victory. However, despite his heroics, the team fell just short, ending at 208/7, and Mumbai Indians won by 4 runs. 

3. David Miller – 38 Balls

David Miller’s ‘Killer Miller’ innings in 2013 is one of the most celebrated chases in IPL history. With Kings XI Punjab struggling at 64/4 in their pursuit of 191, Miller turned the game on its head with a spectacular 101* off 38 balls, featuring 8 fours and 7 sixes.

His century guided Punjab to a remarkable six-wicket win with 2 overs to spare. This is one of the greatest IPL innings of all time.

Suggested Read: Top 10 Fastest Balls in IPL History

4. Travis Head – 39 Balls

In a high-scoring encounter in 2024 between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Royal Challengers Bangalore, Travis Head’s swift century off 39 balls was the highlight. Head’s innings was instrumental in propelling Sunrisers to an imposing total of 287/3. His knock included 9 fours and 8 sixes. Bangalore, despite a valiant effort, could not chase down the target, falling short by 25 runs.

5. Will Jacks – 41 Balls

Will Jacks’s century off 41 balls in 2024 is fifth on the list of fastest century in IPL history. Playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore, Jacks led the charge with 5 fours and 10 sixes, helping his team chase down a formidable 201 set by the Gujarat Titans. His aggressive approach at the top of the order put the opposition on the back foot right from the start. 

6. Adam Gilchrist – 42 Balls

Adam Gilchrist’s rapid 42-ball century in 2008 was one of the early highlights of the IPL. Playing for Deccan Chargers against Mumbai Indians, Gilchrist’s explosive knock included 10 fours and 9 sixes. His assault on the bowlers helped Deccan Chargers chase down a target of 155 with ease, finishing at 158/2 in just 12 overs. 

Suggested Read: List of Top 5 Highest Score of Chris Gayle in IPL

7. AB de Villiers – 43 Balls

AB de Villiers, known for his 360-degree shot-making ability, played one of his finest T20 innings in 2016 for Royal Challengers Bangalore against Gujarat Lions. De Villiers’ 43-ball century was a masterclass in innovative and fearless batting. His innings, which included 10 fours and 12 sixes, propelled RCB to a towering total of 248/3. Gujarat Lions were completely outclassed and could only muster 104 in reply, giving RCB a thumping 144-run victory. De Villiers’ century reaffirmed his status as one of the most versatile and dangerous batsmen in the world.

8. David Warner – 43 Balls

David Warner’s century off 43 balls in 2017 was instrumental in Sunrisers Hyderabad’s dominant performance against Kolkata Knight Riders. Warner’s knock included 10 fours and 8 sixes, setting the foundation for a formidable total of 209/3. KKR, in their chase, struggled to keep up with the required rate and were restricted to 161/7, handing Sunrisers a convincing 48-run win. 

9. Sanath Jayasuriya – 45 Balls

Sanath Jayasuriya’s 45-ball century in 2008 was a spectacle of brutal hitting. Playing for Mumbai Indians against Chennai Super Kings, Jayasuriya’s knock featured 10 fours and 11 sixes.

His explosive innings helped Mumbai chase down a target of 157 in just 13.5 overs, finishing at 158/1. Jayasuriya’s innings was a display of his natural attacking style, and his ability to dominate bowlers with ease, marking one of the earliest and most memorable centuries in IPL history.

Further Read: Lowest score in IPL: Top 10 Lowest Score in IPL History

10. Mayank Agarwal – 45 Balls

Mayank Agarwal’s 45-ball century in 2020 for Kings XI Punjab against Rajasthan Royals is the final entry on the list. Agarwal’s knock included 10 fours and 7 sixes, helping Punjab post a massive total of 223/2.

Despite a spirited chase by Rajasthan Royals, led by Rahul Tewatia’s heroics, Punjab managed to secure a narrow 4-run victory. 


Each year in the IPL records are broken and some of these players may no longer be on this elite list. But these knocks have helped IPL become one of the most popular leagues in the world.

IPL has become one of the best leagues across the world and these players have become proper fantasy cricket winning-players. Download the WinZO Fantasy Cricket app to pick match-winners and win big.

FAQs about Fastest Century in IPL

Q) Who has scored the fastest century in the IPL?

A) Chris Gayle holds the record for scoring the fastest century in IPL history. He achieved this milestone off just 30 balls while playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore against Pune Warriors on April 23, 2013.

Q) Who scored the first ever century in the IPL?

A) Brendon McCullum scored the first-ever century in the IPL. Representing Kolkata Knight Riders, McCullum smashed an unbeaten 158 off 73 balls against Royal Challengers Bangalore in the inaugural match of the IPL on April 18, 2008.

Q) Which Indian has scored the fastest century in the IPL?

A) The fastest century by an Indian in the IPL was scored by Mayank Agarwal. He achieved this feat off 45 balls while playing for Kings XI Punjab against Rajasthan Royals on September 27, 2020, in Sharjah.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular