HomeCricketMost Successful Teams in IPL From 2008 to 2024

Most Successful Teams in IPL From 2008 to 2024

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has captivated cricket enthusiasts globally since its inception, evolving into one of the most popular and lucrative T20 leagues worldwide. Launched in 2008, the IPL revolutionized cricket by combining high-intensity matches with entertainment, attracting top international players and massive audiences.

In its inaugural season, the Rajasthan Royals emerged as the first IPL champions, led by Shane Warne. Fast forward to 2024, the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) claimed their third IPL title under the captaincy of Shreyas Iyer. 

List of Most Successful Teams in IPL History

Chennai Super Kings 

The Chennai Super Kings stand as one of the most successful franchises in IPL history, sharing the record for the most IPL titles, five in total, alongside the Mumbai Indians. Their most recent triumph came in 2023, underlining their consistent dominance in the league.

CSK boasts an impressive record of 10 finals appearances and has qualified for the playoffs in 12 out of 15 seasons. CSK’s journey to IPL glory began with their first title in 2010, followed by successive wins in 2011, 2018, and 2021 before their latest conquest in 2023. Each of these wins came under the captaincy of MS Dhoni, who passed on the baton to Ruturaj Gaikwad in 2024.

Their victories in the Champions League Twenty20 in 2010 and 2014 further underline their pedigree in T20 cricket on a global stage. Even when we talk about the overall win percentage, CSK is the most successful team in IPL history with a win percentage of 57.74. They have lost only 98 of their 239 matches. 

Read More: 10 Teams with Highest Run Chase in Test Cricket

CSK Performance Each Season

YearMatchesWonLostFinal Result
20201468League stage
202214410League stage
20241477League stage

Mumbai Indians

The Mumbai Indians epitomize unparalleled success in the IPL, holding the distinction of being the joint-most successful team in IPL alongside the CSK with five IPL titles. Renowned for their consistency and strategic acumen, MI has dominated the league with an impressive record of winning matches.

Since the inception of the IPL in 2008, Mumbai have won five titles in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020. All of these five trophies came under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma, who was shockingly removed from captaincy ahead of IPL 2024 for Hardik Pandya to be made the captain.

Under the guidance of reputed coaches like Mahela Jayawardene and a support staff committed to excellence, MI has consistently featured in the playoffs. They have appeared in the knockouts a record 10 times. Overall, the team has a win percentage of 54.50, having won 142 of their 261 matches. Rohit Sharma is the leading run scorer of the team while Lasith Malinga is the leading wicket taker. 

Mumbai Indians Performance Each Season

YearMatchesWonLostFinal Result
20081477League stage
20091458League stage
20161477League stage
20181468League stage
20211477League stage
202214410League stage
202414410League stage

Kolkata Knight Riders 

Since beginning their IPL journey in 2008, KKR initially struggled to find their footing but transformed into a formidable force under the ownership of Shah Rukh Khan’s Red Chillies Entertainment and the leadership of Gautam Gambhir. After years of being called the underdogs, KKR achieved their maiden IPL title in 2012, a triumph that cemented their place among the league’s elite.

This win came under the captaincy of Gambhir. Building on this success, KKR secured their second IPL title in 2014 under the astute leadership of Gambhir once again. In 2024, KKR added another chapter to their storied history by clinching their third IPL title with Gautam Gambhir as their mention and Shreyas Iyer as the captain.

KKR is now the second-most successful team in the IPL. They also hold the record for the longest winning streak by any IPL team (14). Overall, KKR have a win percentage of 51.58. They have won 130 and lost 117 matches. 

Rajasthan Royals, Deccan Chargers, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Gujarat Titans

Rajasthan Royals, Deccan Chargers, Sunrisers Hyderabad and Gujarat Titans have one title each and are among the most successful teams in IPL. The Rajasthan Royals, inaugural champions in 2008 under the leadership of Shane Warne, set the tone for underdog victories in the league. The Deccan Chargers followed suit in 2009 under Adam Gilchrist’s captaincy. Sunrisers Hyderabad claimed their title in 2016, with David Warner at the helm. Gujarat Titans, the newest addition to the winners’ circle, secured their maiden title in a memorable campaign in 2022 under the captaincy of Hardik Pandya. 


Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings are the joint most successful IPL teams with five titles each, followed by Kolkata Knight Riders, who have three titles. 

With IPL, fantasy cricket too has become very popular. Download WinZO fantasy cricket app, pick your favourite players and win big.

FAQs about Most Successful Teams in IPL

Q) Which is the most successful team in IPL?

A) The Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Mumbai Indians (MI) are jointly the most successful teams in IPL history with five titles each.

Q) Which was the most successful team in IPL 2023?

A) Chennai Super Kings (CSK) won the IPL title in 2023, their fifth overall.

Q) Which was the most successful team in IPL 2022? 

A) Gujarat Titans were the most successful team in IPL 2022, winning their first title.

Q) Which was the most successful team in IPL 2021? 

A) Chennai Super Kings (CSK) reclaimed the IPL title in 2021, marking their fourth victory.

Q) Which was the most successful team in IPL 2020?

A) Mumbai Indians (MI) were the most successful team in IPL 2020, securing their fifth title overall.

Q) Which was the most successful team in IPL 2024? 

A) Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) emerged as the most successful team in IPL 2024, clinching their third title.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular