HomeWorld CupICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Schedule, format, teams, venues, winners list

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Schedule, format, teams, venues, winners list

The highly anticipated ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 is just around the corner. The first match of the men’s cricket world cup will be between England and New Zealand. It starts on Thursday at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. 

The group stage matches will run all the way From there, cricket enthusiasts can look forward to daily group-stage matches, all the way through to Sunday, 12 November. The excitement continues with the semi-finals scheduled for Wednesday, 15 November, and Thursday, 16 November, culminating in the grand finale on Sunday, 19 November.

The format for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 involves all 10 competing teams engaged in a round-robin group stage, where every team faces each other once. Victories earn two points, while ties or no-results grant one point, and losses result in zero points.

Once all 10 teams complete their nine group-stage battles, the top four ranked teams secure a spot in the semi-finals. The team that clinched the first position in the group stage will battle the fourth-placed team, while the second and third-ranked teams will square off in the other semi-final. 

The ultimate showdown in the final will determine the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 champions.

Enjoy Cricket World Cup with WinZO Fantasy Cricket

Here’s a glimpse of the full fixture list and the teams vying for glory: 

Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, and Sri Lanka.

The 48 enthralling matches of this Cricket World Cup will be spread across 10 prestigious venues in India. England’s opening clash with New Zealand takes place in Ahmedabad. The semi-finals will take place in Mumbai and Kolkata, with Ahmedabad playing host to the grand final.

The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 venues include: 

Ahmedabad (Narendra Modi Stadium), Bangalore (M. Chinnaswamy Stadium), Chennai (MA Chidambaram Stadium), Delhi (Arun Jaitley Stadium), Dharamshala (HPCA Stadium), Hyderabad (Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium), Kolkata (Eden Gardens), Lucknow (BRSABV Ekana Cricket Stadium), Mumbai (Wankhede Stadium), and Pune (Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium).

Previous Cricket World Cup winners

England come into the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup as defending champions, having won it for the first time four years ago on home soil.

  • 1975 – West Indies
  • 1979 – West Indies
  • 1983 – India
  • 1987 – Australia
  • 1992 – Pakistan
  • 1996 – Sri Lanka
  • 1999 – Australia
  • 2003 – Australia
  • 2007 – Australia
  • 2011 – India
  • 2015 – Australia
  • 2019 – England


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular