HomeCricketWhat is the Full Form of PBKS

What is the Full Form of PBKS

The Indian Premier League (IPL) was established in 2008 following India’s win in the T20 World Cup in 2007. It was a watershed moment for cricket, ushering in a new era of excitement and glamour.

Initially comprising eight teams representing different Indian cities, the league quickly captivated audiences worldwide with its high-octane matches and star-studded line-ups. Over the years, the IPL has evolved into one of the most lucrative and popular cricket leagues globally, attracting top players from around the world. Currently, 10 teams take part in the tournament, one of which is PBKS. Full form of PBKS is Punjab Kings. 

PBKS Franchise History 

In 2007, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) established the IPL. An auction held in Mumbai in February 2008 allocated franchises for eight cities. The Punjab team was purchased by a consortium including Mohit Burman from the Dabur group (46%), Ness Wadia from the Wadia group (23%), Preity Zinta (23%), and Saptarshi Dey of the Dey & Dey Group (minor stake), paying a total of $76 million for the franchise.

Represented as Kings XI Punjab, the franchise encompassed the catchment areas of Kashmir, Jammu, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, and Haryana.

With the exception of the 2014 season, where they topped the league table and finished as runners-up, the team has only reached the playoffs once in 16 seasons.

The team hosts its home games primarily at the Maharaja Yadavindra Singh International Cricket Stadium. However, starting from the 2010 season, they have occasionally played home matches at Dharamsala and Indore as well. 

In 2021, Kings XI Punjab was renamed Punjab Kings. Ness Wadia cited the need for a rebrand after 13 seasons, expressing disappointment over the team’s inability to win a title. He hoped the name change would signify a fresh start for the franchise.

Read More: Who is the King of IPL?

PBKS in Each IPL Season from 2008 to 2024

YearLeague standingFinal standing
20082nd out of 8Semi-finalists
20095th out of 8League stage
20108th out of 8League stage
20115th out of 10League stage
20126th out of 9League stage
20136th out of 9League stage
20141st out of 8Runners up
20158th out of 8League stage
20168th out of 8League stage
20175th out of 8League stage
20187th out of 8League stage
20196th out of 8League stage
20206th out of 8League stage
20216th out of 8League stage
20226th out of 10League stage
20238th out of 10League stage

PBKS 2008 Team Performance

inconsistency plagued the team in the 2008 season, and they narrowly failed to make it to the semi-finals after losing their last league game to CSK. Most of their Australian recruits were unavailable that season, and that only made matters worse for KXIP in their maiden IPL campaign. 

PBKS 2009 Team Performance

Similar to the previous year, Kings XI Punjab aimed high but fell short, missing the playoffs by a narrow margin. Despite a strong start, injuries and inconsistent performances led to their downfall.

PBKS 2010 Team Performance

Struggling throughout the season, Kings XI Punjab finished at the bottom of the table. Despite sporadic victories, they couldn’t maintain momentum, ultimately ending the season with disappointing results.

Suggested Read: Cricket Bat Weight – What is Weight of Cricket Bat

PBKS 2011 Team Performance

With a strong lineup and experienced leadership, Kings XI Punjab looked promising but narrowly missed the playoffs, finishing fifth in the points table.

PBKS 2012 Team Performance

A mediocre season for Kings XI Punjab, finishing sixth overall with eight wins out of sixteen matches.

PBKS 2013 Team Performance

Despite David Miller’s stellar performance, Kings XI Punjab failed to qualify for the playoffs. Adam Gilchrist retired at the end of the season.

PBKS 2014 Team Performance

Under George Bailey’s captaincy, Kings XI Punjab started strong, winning their initial games. Led by Glenn Maxwell’s explosive batting and supported by Virender Sehwag, they reached the final but lost to Kolkata Knight Riders despite setting a challenging target.

PBKS 2015 Team Performance

In 2015, again under Bailey’s leadership, Kings XI Punjab struggled, winning only three out of 14 matches and ending eighth in the league. 

PBKS 2016 Team Performance

In the 2016 season, Kings XI Punjab saw David Miller and Murali Vijay take turns as captains. Despite the change in leadership, the team struggled, finishing eighth with just four victories.

PBKS 2017 Team Performance

In a bid to bounce back from consecutive last-place finishes, Kings XI Punjab appointed Virender Sehwag as head coach and Glenn Maxwell as captain for the 2017 season. However, they narrowly missed the playoffs, ending fifth after winning seven out of 14 matches. 

PBKS 2018 Team Performance

Ravichandran Ashwin led as captain with Brad Hodge as coach. The season started strong as they won five of their first six games. However, their inconsistency later on led to only one win in the next eight matches, missing out on the playoffs yet again. 

PBKS 2019 Team Performance

Punjab added new talent through the auction, securing 13 players. Despite a strong lineup, they finished sixth in the league table. 

PBKS 2020 Team Performance

They were again inconsistent this year, finishing the season at the sixth place. They were knocked out of the tournament after losing their last league game to CSK. 

PBKS 2021 Team Performance

The woes continued as Punjab won only 6 matches out of 14 matches, thus finishing sixth in the tournament.

PBKS 2022 Team Performance

The same fate followed in 2022, with Punjab finishing sixth in the points table and narrowly missing out a place in the playoffs.

PBKS 2023 Team Performance

Of the 14 matches they played in IPL 2023, Punjab won six and lost eight, finishing eighth in the points table. 

Further Read: Sachin Records in Cricket, Test Cricket, T20 Cricket, ODI and IPL

Punjab Kings Captains Over the Years 

The Punjab Kings have seen a rotation of captains over the years, with Yuvraj Singh leading the pack with 29 matches under his belt. His tenure from 2008 to 2009 showcased a commendable 58.62% win rate, with a semifinal finish in 2008 as the highlight.

Following Singh, the leadership baton passed through notable names like Adam Gilchrist, George Bailey, and Glenn Maxwell, each leaving their mark on the team’s journey. Amongst the Sri Lankan duo, Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene briefly took charge, albeit with mixed results. Indian cricketers like KL Rahul and Shikhar Dhawan have also been at the helm of the team.

You can play fantasy cricket on the WinZO App. Download and install the app from the official website, then select fantasy cricket from the fantasy section. play and win prizes



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular