HomeCricketWhat is Road Safety World Series? Check Out Previous Winners and Records

What is Road Safety World Series? Check Out Previous Winners and Records

The Road Safety World Series is a cricket tournament where retired cricket players from different countries compete in T20 matches. It was started by Ravi Gaikwad, who works on traffic safety in Thane, India, along with the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). Sunil Gavaskar, former captain of the Indian cricket team, is the commissioner of the series, while Sachin Tendulkar is the brand ambassador. The tournament is backed by the Indian government’s Ministry of Road Transport and Highways, Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology, and Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. Teams from India, England, Sri Lanka, West Indies, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand, and Bangladesh have taken part in the series.

The Road Safety World Series T20 League aims to create awareness towards road safety in the country and change people’s mindset towards their behaviour on the roads. Notably, the first edition of the series in 2020 was cancelled after four games on March 11, 2020 due to the Covid-19 pandemic. So far, only two seasons of the tournament have been played.

Road Safety World Series 2021 season

All the matches of the Road Safety World Series 2021 were held at the Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Cricket Stadium in Raipur. Six teams participated in the tournament: India Legends, South Africa Legends, England Legends, Bangladesh Legends, Sri Lanka Legends, and West Indies Legends. The Australia Legends team decided not to compete due to travel restrictions in their country.

Renowned players like Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Mohammed Kaif, Yusuf Pathan, and Irfan Pathan represented the India Legends team. The first semi-final took place between India Legends and West Indies Legends in Raipur, while the second semi-final was between Sri Lanka Legends and South Africa Legends at the same venue. In the final, India Legends defeated Sri Lanka Legends by 14 runs, with Yusuf Pathan being named the Player of the Match.

Most Runs in the 2021 Season

Tillakaratne DilshanSri Lanka Legends8271
Upul TharangaSri Lanka Legends6237
Sachin TendulkarIndia Legends7233
Morné van WykSouth Africa Legends6228
Virender SehwagIndia Legends7214

Most Wickets in the 2021 Season

PlayerTeamMatchesWicketsBest bowling
Tillakaratne DilshanSri Lanka Legends8124/6
Yusuf PathanIndia Legends593/28
Munaf PatelIndia Legends794/19
Monty PanesarEngland Legends684/26
Rangana HerathSri Lanka Legends782/5

Road Safety World Series 2022 season

The 2022 Road Safety World Series was the second season of the cricket league. New Zealand Legends joined the league, while India, England, Sri Lanka, West Indies, South Africa, Australia, and Bangladesh played their second edition.

Originally, the second season was planned to be held in both India and the United Arab Emirates in February 2022. However, due to a rise in Covid-19 cases in India, it was moved to the UAE and rescheduled for March. Some players, including Sachin Tendulkar, initially withdrew from the tournament due to payment issues from the first season, but eventually, they received their payments. The tournament faced several postponements and was eventually scheduled for September.

Matches took place at Green Park Stadium in Kanpur, Holkar Stadium in Indore, Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Dehradun, and Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Cricket Stadium in Raipur, with the semi-finals and final held in Raipur.

In the final, India Legends defeated Sri Lanka Legends by 33 runs to clinch their second trophy.

Most Runs in the 2022 Season

1Naman OjhaIndia Legends6266
2Shane WatsonAustralia Legends5239
3Dwayne SmithWest Indies Legends4212
4Tillakaratne DilshanSri Lanka Legends6192
5Dilshan MunaweeraSri Lanka Legends4153

Most Wickets in the 2022 Season

Pos.PlayerTeamMatchesWicketsBest bowling
1Nuwan KulasekaraSri Lanka Legends5134/36
2Sanath JayasuriyaSri Lanka Legends574/3
3Stephen ParryEngland Legends473/19
4Krishmar SantokieWest Indies Legends473/7
5Rahul SharmaIndia Legends663/17


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular