HomeIndian Premier League (IPL)What are the teams in IPL 2023?

What are the teams in IPL 2023?

The auctions are done, the teams look fairly settled and now, IPL 2023 promises to be another season of plenty of thrills. Gujarat Titans made an impressive start to their IPL stint by winning the title in their very first season. The IPL 2023 teams have managed to retain their core and have added several new faces. The teams in IPL 2023 look fairly settled and once again, fans can expect a closely-fought contest.

Here are the IPL 2023 teams:

TeamHome GroundCityCoachCaptain1st season
Chennai Super KingsMA Chidambaram StadiumChennaiStephen FlemingMS Dhoni2008
Delhi CapitalsArun Jaitley StadiumDelhiRicky PontingRishabh Pant2008
Gujarat TitansNarendra Modi StadiumAhmedabadAshish NehraHardik Pandya2022
Kolkata Knight RidersEden GardensKolkataBrendon McCullumShreyas Iyer2008
Lucknow Super GiantsBharat Ratna Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana StadiumLucknowAndy FlowerKL Rahul2022
Mumbai IndiansWankhede StadiumMumbaiMahela JayawardeneRohit Sharma2008
Punjab KingsPCA StadiumMohaliAnil KumbleMayank Agarwal2008
Rajasthan RoyalsSawai Man Singh StadiumJaipurKumar SangakkaraSanju Samson2008
Royal Challengers BangaloreM Chinnaswamy StadiumBengaluruSanjay BangarFaf du Plessis2008
Sunrisers HyderabadRajiv Gandhi International StadiumHyderabadTom MoodyKane Williamson2013

A lot of money was splurged at the IPL auctions. England all-rounder Sam Curran set a new record for the Indian Premier League (IPL), when he was snapped up by Punjab Kings for Rs 18.5 crore. England Test captain Ben Stokes too was picked up for Rs 16.25 crore which became the joint-third costliest bid in history. He will now play for the Chennai Super Kings. 

Five-time IPL champions Mumbai Indians shelled out a whopping Rs 17.5 crore for Australian all-rounder Cameron Green. This made Green the second-most-expensive pick in the history of the IPL. 



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular