HomeCricketHow Many World Cup Australia Won

How Many World Cup Australia Won

The Australian cricket team, often regarded as one of the most formidable and successful teams in the history of the sport, has a storied legacy marked by numerous World Cup victories across different formats. 

Their dominance in international cricket is evident through their consistent performances and victories in One Day Internationals (ODIs), Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is), and the Women’s Cricket World Cup. 

Australia are the current ICC World Test Championship and ICC Cricket World Cup champions. So how many times Australia won World Cup? They have won the ODI World Cup a record six times and the T20I World Cup once. 

List of ODI World Cup Won by Australia 

Australia has made a record eight World Cup final appearances (1975, 1987, 1996, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015, and 2023) and has won the World Cup a record six times (1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015, and 2023).

Australia is also the first and only team to appear in four consecutive World Cup finals (1996, 1999, 2003, and 2007), surpassing the previous record of three consecutive final appearances held by the West Indies (1975, 1979, and 1983). Additionally, Australia is the first and only team to win three consecutive World Cups (1999, 2003, and 2007).

1987 – The First Triumph

Australia’s first World Cup victory came in 1987, under the captaincy of Allan Border. The tournament, held in India and Pakistan, saw Australia defeating England in a nail-biting final in Kolkata.

Batting first, Australia posted a competitive total of 253 for 5, thanks to a solid team effort. England fought hard but fell short by just 7 runs, ending at 246 for 8. This win marked Australia’s emergence as a major force in international cricket.

1999 – The Resurgence

Australia’s second World Cup win came 12 years later in 1999, held in England. Steve Waugh’s leadership was instrumental as Australia completed dominated Pakistan in a memorable final at Lord’s.

Pakistan was bowled out for a mere 132, with Shane Warne taking 4 wickets. Australia chased down the target comfortably with eight wickets in hand, marking their return to dominance.

2003 – The Domination Continues

In 2003, Australia successfully defended their title in South Africa, displaying one of the most dominant performances in World Cup history. Ricky Ponting led the team, which remained unbeaten throughout the tournament.

The final against India in Johannesburg saw Ponting playing a captain’s knock, scoring a blistering 140 not out. Australia posted a daunting total of 359 for 2, and India could only manage 234, handing Australia a massive 125-run victory.

2007 – The Hat-Trick

Australia’s supremacy continued in 2007 in the West Indies, where they became the first team to win three consecutive World Cups. Under Ponting’s captaincy, Australia once again went undefeated through the tournament.

In the rain-affected final against Sri Lanka in Bridgetown, Adam Gilchrist’s explosive 149 helped Australia post 281 for 4. Sri Lanka’s chase was interrupted by rain, but they could only reach 215 for 8 in the revised 38-over match, giving Australia a 53-run victory via DLS method.

2015 – The Home Glory

The 2015 World Cup saw Australia lifting the trophy on home soil, co-hosted with New Zealand. Led by Michael Clarke, Australia displayed consistent performance throughout the tournament.

In the final at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, they faced New Zealand. New Zealand was bowled out for 183, with Mitchell Starc and James Faulkner taking three wickets each. Australia chased down the target in just 33.1 overs, with Clarke and Steven Smith guiding the team to a seven-wicket victory.

2023 – The Sixth Crown

Australia’s most recent World Cup victory came in 2023 in India. Under the leadership of Pat Cummins, Australia demonstrated resilience and skill. The final against India in Ahmedabad was a high-stakes match, with a strong Indian team posing a significant challenge.

Batting first, India posted a below average total of 240. In reply, Australia chased down the target in only 43 overs as Travis Head crafted a fine century. With this win, a lot of people googled “how many times Australia won World Cup”, and the answer was six. 

List of T20I World Cup Won by Australia 

Now coming to the shortest format. Australia has played 188 T20 International matches, winning 100, losing 81, tying 3, and with 4 ending in no-result. But how many times Australia won the T20 World Cup? Australia has won the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup once, defeating New Zealand in the 2021 final.

Australia’s triumph in the 2021 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup marked a historic moment as they claimed their first title in the shortest format of the game. The tournament was held in the UAE and Oman due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

In the semi-final, Australia faced an in-form Pakistan team that had been unbeaten in the group stage. Pakistan posted a challenging total of 176 for 4, thanks to a brilliant 67 by Mohammad Rizwan and a quickfire 55 from Fakhar Zaman. Australia’s chase got off to a shaky start, but a sensational 41* off 16 balls by Matthew Wade, supported by Marcus Stoinis’s 40*, saw them home with an over to spare. Wade’s three consecutive sixes off Shaheen Afridi in the final over, when Australia needed 22 runs to win, were the highlight of the match.

The final in Dubai pitted Australia against their trans-Tasman rivals, New Zealand. Batting first, New Zealand posted a competitive total of 172 for 4, with skipper Kane Williamson leading from the front with a magnificent 85 off 48 balls. Australia’s bowlers, led by Josh Hazlewood (3/16), managed to contain the Kiwi batting lineup in the death overs, preventing a bigger total. In the chase, 

David Warner set the tone with a blistering 53 off 38 balls. The defining partnership of the match was between Mitchell Marsh and Warner. Marsh played a match-winning innings of 77* off 50 balls. His aggressive approach, combined with Glenn Maxwell’s quickfire 28* off 18 balls, ensured Australia reached the target with 7 balls to spare, sealing an eight-wicket victory.

Australian Women’s Cricket Team World Cup Titles 

Both the Australian men’s and women’s teams have secured numerous World Cup titles. In the 50-over format, the Australian women’s team has won more titles than all other teams combined, claiming victories in 1978, 1982, 1988, 1997, 2005, 2013, and 2022. Similarly, in T20Is, the Australian women’s have shown dominance, winning the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in 2010, 2012, 2014, 2018, 2020, and 2023.


Australia’s unparalleled success in cricket’s premier events across formats highlights their dominance on the global stage. With a legacy built on resilience, skill, and unwavering determination, the Australian teams, both men’s and women’s, have consistently risen to the occasion when it matters most.

From their numerous ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup victories to their triumphs in the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup and ICC Women’s T20 World Cup, Australia’s cricketing prowess knows no bounds. 

Australian players are normally picked when picking teams in fantasy cricket. However, it is prudent to closely observe their recent form. Make your picks when making a team on WinZO fantasy cricket.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular