HomeCricketExplained: Powerplay in ODI Cricket 

Explained: Powerplay in ODI Cricket 

Over the years, a lot of new rules and innovations have been added to the game of cricket. One such innovation is the powerplay, which is a set of overs with fielding restrictions. In limited-overs cricket, powerplays are used to create a balance between bat and ball. During powerplay overs, only a certain number of fielders are allowed outside the 30-yard circle. 

Typically, the first ten overs of an ODI are a mandatory powerplay, while in T20 matches, the first six overs are designated as powerplay. Subsequent powerplays can be taken at different stages, providing strategic depth to the game.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) officially introduced powerplay in ODI cricket in 2005. While the powerplay rules in ODI cricket were amended multiple times between 2008 and 2011, the rules drafted in 2015 are currently implemented. 

What are the Powerplay Rules in ODI Cricket? 

In the first 10 overs of an innings, known as the first powerplay, only two fielders are permitted outside the 30-yard circle. From overs 11 to 40, up to four fielders can be stationed outside this circle. During the final 10 overs, from 41 to 50, the limit increases to five fielders outside the 30-yard circle.

Read More: What is DLS Method in Cricket

History of Powerplay in Cricket 

Fielding restrictions in One Day International (ODI) cricket have undergone significant evolution since the 1970s, particularly during World Series Cricket, and were formally introduced in ODIs in 1980 in Australia. Initially, only two fielders were allowed outside the 30-yard circle for the first ten overs, with the number increasing to five for the remaining overs.

In 2005, the International Cricket Council (ICC) introduced the term “powerplay” along with three distinct blocks of fielding restrictions: the mandatory ten overs at the start, and two additional five-over powerplays, chosen by the bowling team. However, teams often took both additional powerplays early, effectively resulting in a single block of 20 overs of fielding restrictions.

To address this, in 2008, the batting team was given the option to decide the timing of one powerplay. Further changes were made in 2011 and 2012, including reducing the number of powerplay blocks from three to two and altering the number of fielders allowed outside the circle.

The most recent amendment occurred in 2015, consolidating the powerplays into three distinct phases for the entire innings and relaxing the restriction on catching fielders during the first powerplay.

Suggested Read: What is Suspended Meaning in Cricket?

Most Runs in Powerplay in ODI 

In December 2015, New Zealand set a record-breaking powerplay score of 118 runs in just 8.2 overs against Sri Lanka in Christchurch. Martin Guptill’s blistering 93 off 30 balls, featuring nine fours and eight sixes, propelled New Zealand to victory by ten wickets with an astonishing 250 balls to spare.

Similarly, Australia equalled this feat in Dharamsala during the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup against New Zealand. David Warner and Travis Head’s explosive partnership saw them rack up 118 runs in the first ten overs, with Warner reaching a fifty in just 27 balls.

New Zealand features again in the third spot, achieving a powerplay score of 116 runs in 10 overs against England during the 2015 World Cup in Wellington. Led by Brendon McCullum’s scintillating 77 off 25 balls, including 8 fours and 7 sixes, New Zealand chased down England’s total of 123 in just 12.3 overs to secure victory.

In August 2019, West Indies notched up their highest powerplay score of 114 runs in 10 overs against India in Port of Spain. Chris Gayle’s explosive 73 off 41 balls and Evin Lewis’s brisk 43 off 29 balls set the stage for a formidable total of 240/7 in a rain-curtailed 35-over game. However, India chased down the target in just 32.3 overs, with Virat Kohli leading the charge with a century.

Australia completes the top five list with their powerplay score of 112 runs in 10 overs against India in Vishakhapatnam in March 2023. Travis Head’s 51 off 30 balls and Mitchell Marsh’s 66 off 36 balls ensured Australia’s emphatic victory by ten wickets with a whopping 234 balls to spare.

Suggested Read: What is Retired Hurt in Cricket

Powerplay in T20 Cricket

In T20 internationals and other T20s, the initial six overs of an innings constitute a compulsory powerplay phase. During this period, only two fielders are permitted outside the 30-yard circle. From the seventh over onwards, a maximum of five fielders can operate beyond this boundary. However, the structure differs slightly in Australia’s Big Bash League, where the Powerplay is limited to the first four overs. 

In the IPL 2024, Sunrisers Hyderabad broke the record for most runs in powerplay, amassing 125/0 against the Delhi Capitals. Travis Head scored his half-century in just 16 deliveries. 

In T20 internationals, the record for the highest total in powerplay is held by South Africa. In 2023, Quinton de Kock and Reeza Hendricks hammered 102 runs in the first six overs, which is the highest total in the powerplay overs in T20 internationals.  Previously, in 2021, the West Indies had held the record for the highest runs in a T20I powerplay with 98 runs against Sri Lanka.

Further Read: Explained: Time Out in Cricket


In conclusion, powerplays in ODIs have revolutionized the game, creating thrilling and exciting moments. These designated periods of fielding restrictions have reshaped batting tactics, providing twists and turns to the game. 

The powerplay phase in cricket is often the most action-packed – this is where the batters can really go after the bowlers and score quick runs. This is also the phase where the bowlers have the opportunity to pick up wicket.

Hence, it is important to pick top order bowlers and new ball bowlers when you play fantasy cricket. All these tricks and tips can be followed to pick a team and win big on WinZO fantasy cricket.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular