HomeCricketGod of T20 Cricket in India

God of T20 Cricket in India

India has produced several excellent T20 players. Several batsmen have gone on to become the best in the world after playing in the Indian Premier League (IPL).

When the question “Who is God of T20 cricket in India” comes up, several names come to the mind. But five names stand out due to their exceptional contributions and match-winning performances – Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh and Suryakumar Yadav. 

In this article, we take a look at the T20 career of these five cricketers and why they deserve to be called the God of T20 cricket in India. 

Players Who are Known as the God of T20 Cricket in India

1. Virat Kohli 

FormatMatchesInningsRunsHighest ScoreAverageStrike Rate100s50s4s6s

Virat Kohli’s T20 International career is marked by his consistent run-scoring, remarkable chasing ability. Kohli made his T20I debut on June 12, 2010, against Zimbabwe in Harare. Since then, he has become one of the format’s most prolific batsmen. Kohli is currently the highest run-scorer in T20 internationals with 4037 runs at an average of 51.75 and a strike rate of 138.15. 

Kohli has been named Player of the Tournament in multiple T20 events, including 2014 and 2016 T20 World Cups, underscoring his significant contributions in high-pressure situations. His aggressive and passionate approach to the game, combined with his fitness, has set new benchmarks in T20 cricket.

In the IPL, Kohli is the highest run-scorer of all-time with a remarkable tally of 8004 runs at an average of 38.66 and a strike rate of 131.97. He has also scored the most centuries in the IPL (8). 

Read More: Who is New God of Cricket

2. Rohit Sharma

FormatMatchesInningsRunsHighest ScoreAverageStrike Rate100s50s4s6s

Rohit Sharma’s T20 International career is distinguished by his prolific run-scoring, elegant stroke play, and leadership qualities. Making his T20I debut on September 19, 2007, during the ICC T20 World Cup against England, Sharma quickly rose to prominence. Over his career, he has become one of the format’s most successful and consistent batsmen.

As of May 2024, Rohit is India’s second-highest run-scorer in T20 internationals, only behind Virat Kohli. He has played 151 T20 Internationals, amassing 3,974 runs at an average of 31.79 and a strike rate of 139.97. He holds the record for the most centuries in T20Is, with five centuries to his name.

In addition to his batting, Rohit, current all-format captain of the Indian Cricket Team, has been a valuable leader. He has been particularly successful in the IPL as the captain of Mumbai Indians, leading them to five titles before being replaced as captain by Hardik Pandya in IPL 2024. He is also the third-highest run-scorer in IPL history with 6628 runs in 252 innings at a strike rate of 131.14.

Suggested Read: Who is the God of Cricket?

3. Suresh Raina 

FormatMatchesInningsRunsHighest ScoreAverageStrike Rate100s50s4s6s

Suresh Raina made his T20 International debut on December 1, 2006, against South Africa in Johannesburg. This was also India’s first-ever T20 International match. Raina didn’t get enough game time in the match, and finished with an unbeaten three runs off four deliveries. Raina quickly established himself as a vital part of the team. Over his career, he played 78 T20 Internationals, scoring 1,605 runs at an average of 29.18 and a strike rate of 134.87. 

Raina was the first Indian to score a T20I century, achieving this feat against South Africa during the 2010 ICC World T20. Raina’s contributions in the field were equally significant, with his quick reflexes and accurate throws saving numerous runs and affecting crucial run-outs.

Raina was a part of India’s squad in the inaugural 2007 T20 World Cup, which India won, and he played key roles in subsequent tournaments. Raina was equally successful in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Despite not having played the tournament after 2021, he still remains the fifth-highest run-scorer in IPL history with 5528 runs at an average of 32.51 and a strike rate of 136.73. 

Suggested Read: Who is Called the Father of Cricket?

4. Yuvraj Singh 

FormatMatchesInningsRunsHighest ScoreAverageStrike Rate100s50s4s6s

Yuvraj Singh made his T20I debut on September 13, 2007, against Scotland during the inaugural ICC T20 World Cup. Though the match was washed out, Yuvraj soon made history in the tournament by hitting six sixes in an over off Stuart Broad, becoming the first player to achieve this in T20Is.

Throughout his T20I career, Yuvraj played 58 matches, scoring 1,177 runs at an average of 28.02 and a strike rate of 136.38. His highest score of 77 came against Australia in the 2007 T20 World Cup semifinal, a crucial innings that helped India reach the final. 

With the ball, Yuvraj contributed significantly with his left-arm spin, taking 28 wickets at an average of 17.83 and an economy rate of 7.06. His all-round performances were instrumental in India’s success in various tournaments. 

Yuvraj’s charisma and match-winning abilities made him an indispensable asset to the Indian T20I team until his retirement in 2017. 

In the IPL from 2008 to 2019, Yuvraj scored 2750 runs in 132 matches at a strike rate of almost 130. 

Suggested Read: What is the Net Worth of Yuvraj Singh?

5. Suryakumar Yadav 

FormatMatchesInningsRunsHighest ScoreAverageBalls FacedStrike Rate100s50s4s6s

Suryakumar Yadav is the latest addition in the list of batsmen considered as God of T20 cricket in India. He made his T20I debut on March 14, 2021, against England in Ahmedabad. Although he did not bat in his debut match, he announced his arrival in style by hitting a first-ball six in his second game.

As of May 2024, Yadav has played 60 T20 Internationals, scoring 2,141 runs at an impressive average of 45.55 and a remarkable strike rate of 171.55. He has rapidly become one of the most exciting and reliable batsmen in the format. 

In the IPL, he has played 150 matches, scoring 3594 runs at an average of 32.08 and a strike rate of 145.32. 

Further Read: Who is The King Of Cricket?


In conclusion, T20 cricket in India has been graced by the presence of extraordinary talents who have transcended boundaries and redefined the sport. While the debate over the ultimate “God of T20 Cricket in India” may continue, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh and Suryakumar Yadav definitely deserve the title. 

All these players are world beaters and hence, are often picked in fantasy sides. They have been proven performers and can be the men who give you wins in fantasy cricket. Download WinZO fantasy cricket app and get started with fantasy cricket.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular