HomeCricketWho is the BCCI President? Check out the List of all BCCI...

Who is the BCCI President? Check out the List of all BCCI chairpersons

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), the national governing body of cricket in India, is the world’s wealthiest cricket governing body. Since its establishment in 1928, the position of BCCI president has been regarded as one of the most influential roles in India.

The president typically serves a three-year term and reportedly receives an annual salary of Rs five crore. The BCCI president is elected during the governing body’s annual general meeting, with each of the 30 affiliates having a voting opportunity. The outgoing president also casts a vote. The president’s post is rotated among the five zones of the BCCI.

In the event of a vacancy. the most senior BCCI vice-president would assume the interim role of president. This interim appointment would remain in place until fresh elections are conducted.

Roger Binny, a member of the 1983 World Cup-winning cricket team, assumed the role of BCCI president in October 2022, succeeding Sourav Ganguly. Binny took over the position at the BCCI’s annual general meeting in Mumbai on October 18, 2022. Raymond Eustace Grant Govan served as the first-ever president of the board, having been elected to the position in 1928. He remained in this role until 1933.

All about Roger Binny

Roger Binny is a former Indian cricketer and currently the 36th president of the BCCI. Prior to this role, Binny served as the president of the Karnataka State Cricket Association from 2019 to 2022.

Binny was a part of the Indian cricket team that won the 1983 Cricket World Cup and the 1985 World Championship of Cricket. Notably, he emerged as India’s highest wicket-taker in both of these tournaments. Additionally, Binny was the head coach of the Indian U-19 team, guiding them to victory in the 2000 Under-19 Cricket World Cup.

Binny featured in 27 Test matches and 72 ODIs for India. In Tests, he scored 830 runs at an average of 23.05 and claimed 47 wickets at an average of 32.63. His best bowling figures in Tests were 6/56. In ODIs, Binny amassed 629 runs and took 77 wickets, with his best bowling performance being 4/29.

List of all BCCI Chairpersons

Over the years, influential figures from various spheres, including politicians and businessmen, have held the prestigious position of President of the BCCI. Check out the list of all personalities who have been at the helm of the BCCI from 1928 to 2024.

NameTerm beginningTerm ending
Raymond Eustace Grant Govan19281933
Sikandar Hayat Khan19331935
Hamidullah Khan19351937
Digvijaysinhji Ranjitsinhji Jadeja19371938
Paramasiva Subbarayan19381946
Anthony de Mello19461951
J. C. Mukherji19511954
Maharajkumar of Vizianagram19541956
Surjit Singh Majithia19561958
R. K. Patel19581960
Muthiah Annamalai Chidambaram19601963
Fatehsinghrao Prataprao Gaekwad II19631966
Z. R. Irani19661969
A. N. Ghose19691972
P. M. Rungta19721975
Ramprakash Mehra19751977
Mangalam Chinnaswamy19771980
Sheshrao Krishnarao Wankhede19801982
Narendra Kumar Prasadrao Salve19821985
Srinivasan Sriraman19851988
B. N. Dutt19881990
Madhavrao Scindia19901993
Inderjit Singh Bindra19931996
Raj Singh Dungarpur19961999
Annamalai Chidambaram Muthiah19992001
Jagmohan Dalmiya20012004
Ranbir Singh Mahendra20042005
Sharad Pawar20052008
Shashank Manohar20082011
Narayanaswami Srinivasan20112013
Jagmohan Dalmiya20132013
Narayanaswami Srinivasan20142014
Shivlal Yadav20152015
Shashank Manohar20152015
Anurag Thakur20162017
C. K. Khanaa20172019
Sourav Ganguly20192022
Roger Binny2022Incumbent

The BCCI remains the most powerful body in cricket as can be ascertained from the fact that during the previous cycle from 2015 to 2023, the India board was generating an annual revenue of $46.7 million, which accounted for 22.8 percent of the ICC’s net annual earnings. 

This was a substantial increase and it only solidified India’s financial dominance in the sport. As such, the role of the BCCI president is very importance since he is the most powerful person in cricket. 

Since Jagmohan Dalmiya’s tenure as ICC president, the BCCI has seen a meteoric surge in influence and it only got legs with the inception of the Indian Premier League (IPL) in 2008. Consequently, the epicenter of the cricketing world has shifted from Lord’s in London, England to the Wankhede Stadium, where the BCCI is headquartered.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular